Posted by: Matt | March 29, 2007

Let’s Begin

I’ve always enjoyed books, and I’m usually in the process of reading one. But occasionally I get excited about books and recommit myself to reading. This is one of those times. I’ve spent time nearly every day in the last few weeks finding books to add to my To Be Read list. The website for the local library system allows you to create a list of books. I’ve been adding to mine almost everyday. At this point I’m up to 80. Starting the first of this year I’ve also been keeping a list of books I’ve read. As of today this second list holds 10. That may not be many books for some people but it’s pretty good for me considering much of my time is taken up with work and my daughter.

My TBR list currently holds many Sci-Fi/Fantasy books. This is because I’ve found several excellent SF/F websites with reviews. It has been easy to find good recommendations. Yesterday I started looking at lists of book award winners and nominees. I decided to read at least one nominee from each year in the Fiction and Non-Fiction categories if broken into categories. The awards I’ve chosen to focus on are the Pulitzer, National Book Award, Man Booker Prize and National Book Critics Circle Award. I’ve also added some horror titles to my list because I’ve never read any horror.

It seems many book lovers read more than one book at a time. This is difficult for me because I’m the type who likes to focus on doing one thing at a time. But I’ve decided to try reading one fiction and one non-fiction concurrently. My fiction right now is a Sci-Fi, Hyperion by Dan Simmons and my non-fiction, once I start it, will be The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan. The Omnivore’s Dilemma sounds fascinating, though I’m afraid it will be rather disgusting to find out just what I’m eating.

So let’s begin, 10 down and 80 (and counting) to go…

Responses

  1. It’s so true that many book lovers, especially book bloggers, seem to read more than one book at a time. I don’t know how they do it. I agree with you about liking to focus on one at a time. So have you been reading more than one at a time? How’s it been going?


Leave a Reply

Categories

