Posted by: Matt | March 30, 2007

Finish One, Begin Another

In yesterday’s post over at So Many Words, Stefanie wrote about the happy feeling she normally gets when finishing a book. Similar to that, I have the excited to be finishing feeling when I near the end of a book. I have had that feeling since last night when I realized that I would likely finish Hyperion today. And I have just finished it; I will try to write up a decent review of it later today.

In the same post, Stefanie also mentioned the happy feeling one has when buying a new book. I am prepared to feel that tonight. I have decided that I will buy one book a month. I figure we can afford at least one a month. Normally I rely on the library to provide my reading material and that will continue to be the case but for my one purchase a month. I have made up a list of 15 books from which to choose my first in this little project. I have no idea which of the 15 I will decide upon; I hope to be able to come to a decision at the bookstore. Unfortunately I’ve always struggled with decisions like this.

Responses

  1. What fifteen books are on the list? Don’t tease us by not saying! šŸ™‚

  2. Hmm… the list? Oh yes. Well on the list of 15 is:

    Night Draws Near by Anthony Shadid
    War Trash by Ha Jin
    The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat
    The Reformation by Diarmid MacCulloch
    The Zero by Jess Walter
    Atonement by Ian McEwan
    Blindness by Jose Saramago
    In The Country of Men by Hisham Matar
    Pandora’s Star by Peter F. Hamilton
    The Stars My Destination – Alfred Bester
    I Am Legend by Richard Matheson
    When Gravity Fails by George Alec Effinger
    The Occupation by Patrick Cockburn
    The Great War For Civilisation (yes, with an ‘s’) by Robert Frisk
    Grendel by John Gardner
    I Claudius by Robert Graves
    and anything I can find by Christopher Priest which would make 16 actually…

  3. Oh, nice list!


Leave a Reply

Categories

