Posted by: Matt | April 6, 2007

My Top Ten

I’ve resisted this idea for some time now but I’m finally giving in. A few weeks ago, the blog at Amazon.com had several posts about Top Ten lists inspired by the book The Top Ten by J. Peder Zane. And then yesterday Stefanie had a post on the book. So I figured I’d take a crack at listing my own top ten. I will probably leave out some excellent books that I couldn’t think of at the time I came up with my list. I know I read some fantastic novels in high school, but I was too young to really appreciate them. As a result, this list will be made up of books I’ve read more recently. Without further ado, drumroll please…

  1. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – Just amazing and a reminder of the importance of books
  2. 1984 by George Orwell – One of the few books I’ve read that ends with absolutely no hope
  3. The Complete Aubrey/Maturin Novels by Patrick O’Brian – Okay, so I cheated, but they can all be read like one long novel
  4. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien – What to say, classic Fantasy series, cheated again
  5. World War Z by Max Brooks – Most people don’t take zombie books seriously, but an incredibly thoughtful novel
  6. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – Yes, I’m on the bandwagon (but I did read it months before it became an Oprah pick!)
  7. Dune by Frank Herbert – A great, wonderfully deep Science Fiction novel, that’s three Sci-Fi books
  8. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie – I really enjoy Rushdie’s style, I don’t read enough novels based outside the U.S.
  9. The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara – the Pulitzer Prize winner, I’ve heard his son’s books don’t compare
  10. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky – Only book on the list not written in English, this one is dark but with some bit of hope at the end

There it is. I have to admit, it ended up being quite a bit of fun. Not too many traditional classics on my list. I was a bit fearful of this at first, but I know book lovers are a gentle bunch and won’t give me any grief. Different than a lot of the lists I’ve seen, but different is good, right? I hope I don’t start thinking this way, ordering books as I read them. It’s kind of like ordering your children from favorite to least, not healthy, they’re all favorites!

Responses

  1. Different is great! Good choices. I’m going to have to look for the Zombie book, sometimes a good zombie story fixes everything that ails you 😉

  2. I hope you find this zombie book to be a pleasant surprise, I know I was surprised how much I liked it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

