Posted by: Matt | April 10, 2007

A Non-Fiction Challenge

Non-Fiction Five

I’ve been getting into non-fiction books again after enjoying The Omnivore’s Dilemma, so I’ve decided to join in on the Non-Fiction Five Challenge over at Thoughts of Joy. After some deliberation I’ve chosen the following five books:

  1. Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach
  2. The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America by Erik Larson
  3. The Occupation: War and Resistance in Iraq by Patrick Cockburn
  4. Voices from Chernobyl: The Oral History of a Nuclear Disaster by Svetlana Aleksievich
  5. The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid: A Memoir by Bill Bryson

So there they are. A couple of more lighthearted books and a few heavy subjects. Hard to say which one I’m looking forward to most. I’m just excited to be participating in my first book challenge. Hopefully all goes well.

Responses

  1. Hi Matt! Welcome to the Non-Fiction Five Challenge! I’m glad you have decided to join us in this adventure. I’ve heard of all your choices except for one…pretty good. šŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy them all.

    This one is on my “Possibilities” list, but didn’t make the final cut. You may like it. A Long Way Home: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier (Beah) I have only heard great things about it, but to each its own.

    Happy Reading! šŸ™‚

  2. Hi! I loved The Omnivore’s Dilemma, and Devil in the White City. All your choices sound so interesting to me.

  3. Joy, thanks for the recommendation, I just put it on my TBR list.

    Tara, I just finished The Omnivore’s Dilemma today and it was a fascinating journey. I’m excited to read The Devil in the White City as I’ve read nothing but good about it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

