Posted by: Matt | April 13, 2007

A Musical Interlude

I’ve mentioned books a few times, and did a quick review of a movie, now how about some music? I spend a lot of my work day listening to music, both to block out my coworkers and because I enjoy it. There are a couple of “indie” bands I’ve been listening to a lot lately so I thought I’d throw their names out there.

The more popular of the two is The Shins. They recently released their third album, Wincing the Night Away. This is a decent album, but if you want the really good stuff you should listen to Chutes Too Narrow and Oh, Inverted World. These two are fantastic, I can’t stop listening to them.

The second band is called Band of Horses. Their debut is called Everything All the Time and is quite possibly my favorite album of 2006. They are currently in the studio recording their second full-length.

If you like your music upbeat try out The Shins, if you enjoy a little melancholy go with Band of Horses, but I recommend you find any way possible to check out both of these bands as they’re both fantastic.

Now back to our regularly scheduled book blogging…

Responses

  1. Thanks for the music recommendations–I’m sadly lacking in info about new music. That would be because my kids tend to take over what the family listens to. And they’re too young to have good musical taste πŸ™‚ I’m going to go check out both bands on itunes.

  2. I’m afraid I don’t pay that much attention to music thought I do love to listen to it and have a large number of CDs. Since I like music that is different, I’ll have to check out your suggestions.

    I also want to say that I love your little reading person picture πŸ™‚

  3. Hopefully I haven’t lead you astray on music. I’m not sure if my musical tastes jive with many peoples or not, I know I’m not a big fan of what they play on the radio.

    Stefanie – Glad you like my reading person picture, I drew it myself!

  4. I’m so going to check the out first chance. I love Indie, have you tried The Kooks? They’re immense.


Leave a Reply

Categories

