Posted by: Matt | April 15, 2007

More Books!

My addiction continues. Last week I acquired three new books. On Thursday our Amazon order arrived. We had a $25 gift certificate and decided to pick up three books, one for myself, one for my wife and one for our daughter. I received I, Claudius by Robert Graves; my wife picked My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, an author she’d been wanting to try out; and our daughter got the Goodnight Moon board book. But we weren’t done yet. Saturday we stopped by my favorite bookstore, Borders, and I once again could not resist the “3 for 2” table. I came away with White Noise by Don DeLillo and Atonement by Ian McEwan, and my wife bought Case Histories by Kate Atkinson which I am also interested in.

After finishing Killing Pablo last night, I had decided to read Blindness by Jose Saramago next. But while talking to my sister today she mentioned she had read White Noise and that it was creepy and weird. When I told her I had just bought it she said she was interested to see what I thought of it, so I have now decided to start on White Noise next. Hopefully I won’t regret putting off Blindness!

In other news, we are now bankrupt on account of my book addiction…

Responses

  1. Productive bookshopping!

    I liked White Noise when I read it a long time ago, and it was creepy and weird! I loved Atonement and liked Case Histories, but not as much as Atkinson’s earlier book Behind the Scenes at the Museum. I’m interested to hear what you think when you get through them all!

    Happy reading to the whole family 🙂

  2. White Noise has been on my tbr list for quite some time. It’s had such a cult following. My kids have the Goodnight Moon book as well. It’s not often that I blog about children’s lit, but I did for that one. Our copy isn’t a board book though, I’d be curious to know if anything has been changed. Recently we bought the board book versions of Jan Brett’s “The Mitten”, “The Hat” and “Gingerbread Baby”- they’re okay, I love her artwork, but I was disappointed to find they were abridged versions of her originals.

    And don’t put off Blindness for too long!

  3. Diddo to what Gentle Reader said. “White Noise” is all those things but if you look at is as a satire on the culture of the 1990s, perhaps it won’t seem so weird (or, maybe understandably weird). It’s certainly interesting reading…hope you like it!

  4. J.S. Peyton – I’m less than 30 pages into White Noise but I’m liking Don DeLillo’s style so far. It’s unique and I already see the satire coming out.

    Gentle Reader – I don’t know much about Behind the Scenes at the Museum, I’ll have to check it out after I read Case Histories.

    John – It’s been so long since I last read the non-board book version of Goodnight Moon that I couldn’t tell you how different it is, I’ll have to ask my wife. I promise to pick up Blindness next, your post on it has me too interested to keep putting off.

  5. I agree with J.S. about the satire in White Noise–and understandably weird is exactly right.

    Re: Behind the Scenes at the Museum, it’s a very different kind of book than Case Histories–more of a non-sentimental family drama with a small mystery, whereas Case Histories and her newest book are more about crime.

    Hope you’re still enjoying White Noise…

  6. Way to share the gift certificate! I’ve not read White Noise but I have read Blindness. Blindness is fantastic and I still think about it after reading it five years ago. Be sure you read Saramago’s Seeing too. It’s a companion to Blindness.

  7. I enjoyed White Noise quite a bit, but Blindness is on my list of all-time best books ever. Its look at the human condition under extreme circumstances changed the way I view society. Although Saramago’s latest hasn’t gotten as much acclaim, I still need to get a copy Seeing.

  8. I’ve read some more in White Noise and it’s certainly the most unique book I’ve read recently.

    Wow, I’m impressed with the praise for Blindness from John, Stefanie and Marydell. I’m glad I bought it and it’s definitely next on the list.

  9. I really enjoyed Case Histories and hope you and your wife do, too. It is a great literary mystery.


Leave a Reply

Categories

