Posted by: Matt | April 16, 2007

Interesting Ways to Get Your Literary Fix

I’ve recently read a bit about some interesting options for accessing books in the public domain. If you want to tackle a book one bite-size chunk at a time head over to DailyLit. You can sign up for a book to be emailed to each day in small passages that can be read in about 5 minutes. If you request a behemoth like War and Peace and assuming you read one passage a day, you can look forward to reading it over the next 675 days. Of course, if you just “can’t put it down” you can always request the next passage immediately. This is an incredibly creative idea, I’ve yet to put it to use but it’s tempting.

If you’d prefer to listen to one of the many books in the public domain you can head over to LibriVox (what’s with the crazy capitalization?). This site has a collection of audio books recorded by volunteers. You can download books by chapter or in their entirety. And if you want to take part you can sign up to volunteer your voice. I’ve downloaded their version of Pride and Prejudice. My wife absolutely loves this book so I thought I might try it out. I listened to the first minute or so and the first reader has a charmingly authentic British accent.

Responses

  1. I just signed up for Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence at DailyLit–thanks for the link!

    I’m with your wife on Pride and Prejudice–it’s one of my all-time favorites! Hope you like it. I’ll browse LibriVox, too, and see what I like…

  2. If I ever get around to actually listening to Pride and Prejudice I’ll let you know what I think of it!

  3. Thanks for the two links. I’ve never heard of these two places but I’ll be sure to check them out now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

