Posted by: Matt | April 17, 2007

Reading White Noise

This book is definitely weird. It also has random sentences, random facts. I suppose this is the white noise, analogous to the bombardment of information we receive each day from the world, our world that we’ve created from the television and other technology.

I read this, from White Noise, today: “Only a catastrophe gets our attention. We want them, we need them, we depend on them. As long as they happen somewhere else.” It’s a bizarre thing to read after the events of yesterday.

I feel like I’m missing something as I read the book. I almost have it and then it slips away.

Responses

  1. The payoff comes near the end when you finally figure out the point. I read it not long after its publication and the end of the Cold War, so I wonder if some of its satire has lost oomph over the years. The thing that sticks with me most about it, though, is that it’s the happiest DeLillo book I’ve encountered.

  2. When you say it’s the happiest DeLillo book you’ve read I’m not sure if that’s a reflection on the book or the author. I’m guessing author. πŸ™‚

  3. My Favorite Blogs

    […] I stumbled over this site and it was just what I was looking for […]

  4. Hmm. Probably both.

    Gah! Now I’m going to have to go back and reread some of his books to see if my memories of them are still valid. πŸ™‚

  5. marydell – What DeLillo novels have you read? If I continue to like White Noise I’m going to look at reading some of his others.

  6. I’ve read White Noise (natch), Underworld (horrifying), and The Body Artist (kind of a boring ghost story). He has a new one coming out this year, Falling Man, which I might be checking out after it is released in paperback.

  7. Underworld was the first DeLillo novel I heard of, but I was more interested in the White Noise premise so I started there. I’m definitely going to read some more of his work though. I also saw Falling Man and thought I’d check it out.


Leave a Reply

Categories

