Posted by: Matt | April 18, 2007

Our Little Book Club

A couple of weeks ago my wife and I decided to start our own little book club of two. We picked out a book we’d both like to read and set a deadline to have it finished. We almost never read the same book and if we do it is at completely different times. It’s nice to have someone to talk to about what you’re reading, I was always telling her about whatever book I was reading anyway. Now we’ll be able to have a conversation instead of my monologue.

The book we’ve chosen first is The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. At this point we’re both about half way through it. It’s been fun to talk about it along the way, though the other day I accidentally let something slip that my wife hadn’t read yet. Luckily she wasn’t too far behind and it wasn’t a major plot point. Our deadline is about two weeks away. We’re both on track and plan on having a discussion at the end. We’ve got two more books lined up if everything goes well.

Randomness: I’m attending a conference for work in Salt Lake City the rest of this week. To reach the hotel where the conference is being held I have to transfer trains downtown. Directly across from the transfer point is an independent bookstore called Sam Weller’s that I’ve been wanting to visit for some time. I was so very tempted to skip the conference and hang out in the bookstore but I resisted. I’m not sure if I made the right choice or not…

Responses

  1. You’re book group sounds like fun. Is your finsl discussion going to be formal? By I mean, the two of you will make the time to sit down and specifically talk about the book? If so, don’t forget the treats! 🙂 And maybe on your way home from the conference you’ll have time to stop at the bookstore. Though if your conference is anything like conferences I’ve been to, I would have wanted to skip the conference for the bookstore too.

  2. I’m not sure what we’ll decide to do about our final discussion. I would think we will need to make time to sit down or we’ll just end up moving on without really ever talking about it. I noticed you can get a discussion guide off the publisher’s website so I’m thinking we’ll use that.

    We’re going to the bookstore on Saturday as part of my birthday celebration so it turned out okay that I didn’t go.

  3. You are a brave man, Matt. A man/wife book group probably wouldn’t work for most couples after the first try. I admire your optimism. 🙂

  4. The Kite Runner, like Blindness is also a great book about human nature. Have you finished it yet? How’s your discussion going?

  5. Our deadline for finishing The Kite Runner is the middle of next week. We haven’t talked about it too much lately because I’m ahead of my wife. But we should have our big discussion next week sometime.


Leave a Reply

Categories

