Posted by: Matt | April 23, 2007

Birthday Bookishness

Saturday I turned another year older. Which meant receiving some wonderfully bookish birthday presents. From my daughter, which really means my wife since my daughter isn’t even a year old, I received A Confederacy of Dunces and The Devil in the White City. My younger sister sent along a gift card from Barnes & Noble. And some of my sisters- and brothers-in-law gave me a Borders gift card. I already used the Barnes & Noble card to pick up Baudolino by Umberto Eco from their bargain book table and Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy. I’m a little unsure of what to expect from Umberto Eco, I’ve heard his writing can be pretty complex. I’m saving the Borders card to use in a couple of weeks when I get that book buying urge again.

I also went to Sam Weller’s, an independent bookstore that I’ve mentioned. They carry a lot of books but for some reason they didn’t have many of the books on my buy list. I don’t know if I am looking for books that are too mainstream or what, but I was a bit disappointed. I tried looking for some used books too but the ones I wanted they only had new. I wanted to fall in love with the store and never shop anywhere else but I just didn’t. I didn’t buy a single book. Maybe I was expecting too much. I would be willing to give it one more or even several more tries if it wasn’t a good 40 minutes away from my home. I do have hopes for one more independent bookstore in the area called The King’s English, but it is even further away. It looks like I might be sticking with Borders. I have to admit the readily available 20% off coupons and “3 for 2” tables maybe too much to overcome.

Oh, A Confederacy of Dunces has the most awful cover I’ve ever seen. Don’t believe me, check it out for yourself on the link above.

Responses

  1. Happy Birthday!!!! Aren’t books the best presents?

    I remember liking A Confederacy of Dunces when I read it, but it was years ago…I’m interested to hear what you think! Also, I loved All the Pretty Horses, by Cormac McCarthy, and haven’t read Blood Meridian, but heard it was more violent. So again, interested to hear what you think!

    Isn’t it sad when the independent bookstores don’t cover your needs? I feel that way about the one that’s within walking distance of my house. They will order anything for me at no extra charge, which is great, but sometimes I need the instant gratification of going out and coming home with a book in my hands…and believe me, I’m not proud of that fact…

  2. Happy belated birthday! You got some nice bookish presents. One of the best ways to celebrate in my opinion šŸ™‚

  3. gentle reader – I know all about instant gratification!

    Thanks for the happy birthdays. Books are definitely great presents. I’m already planning how I’m going to spend my Borders gift card.


Leave a Reply

Categories

