Posted by: Matt | April 30, 2007

Let the Challenge Begin

Non-Fiction FiveTomorrow is May 1st. Which means the Non-Fiction Five Challenge begins. I’m starting off with Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach. I’ve heard it’s an entertaining read and look forward to starting. This is my first reading challenge so I’m looking forward to participating. I’ll be putting up a widget with my list of books here next.

I’m a little worried about the coming month as I will probably increase my “currently reading” list to 4 or 5. But Stiff is of a tolerable length so I should be able to complete in a months time if not less.

And I’ve got a package from Amazon waiting at home. I know it’s not my order from Saturday, but two of my friends have sent late Birthday presents and I’m excited to see what it is and who sent it.

Responses

  1. For me, Stiff started out really well but fizzled halfway through. I got the impression that the author had some kind of “death” crisis in the middle of writing the book. By the end, I felt like it was more about her own mortality than the cadavers. Dunno, so I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it.

    I haven’t read any of the other books on your challenge list, but I’ve been interested in The Devil in the White City. Can’t wait to see what you think.

  2. marydell – I’m only a few pages into Stiff, so far it seems interesting and the author is pretty clever. I’m interested to see if I have the same reaction as you. I have heard that The Devil in the White City reads almost like a novel, so I am looking forward to determining if that’s true.

  3. Matt, that’s exactly the same comment I’ve heard about tDitWC from other people. I’m partial to fiction because reading is an escape from reality for me, and I manage maybe 1 non-fiction title for every 40 of fiction. Even then, I usually go for the ones that read like a novel.


Leave a Reply

Categories

