Posted by: Matt | May 2, 2007

Review of The Kite Runner

The Kite RunnerI have finally finished the first book for our little family book club. It took me about a month to read it as we had given ourselves that long to finish. I didn’t need to take that long but I spread it out over the entire month so that it will be fresh in my mind when we finally have our discussion.

The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini, follows a boy from Afghanistan. He and his father are forced to flee when the Soviet Union enters the country. And later must return during the Taliban regime. It is a story about relationships, with family, friends and nations. I’m never sure how much of the plot to share, I don’t want to spoil anything, but I will say there is one event in the story that defines the characters and sets the stage for what occurs later in the novel.

I must say I found this book to be very emotionally involving. I wrote in an earlier post that I enjoy reading because I want to feel, to be involved in the emotions of the characters, and in this The Kite Runner is a success. I found myself rooting for and against the people in the story, happy and heartbroken. And let me say there is much heartache. The writing is sparse and too the point, but that does not detract from the atmosphere. I believe using an entire month to read it allowed me to better appreciate the book. It helped me to become more involved in the story, solidify it in my mind.

I recall being somewhat interested in reading this book when it first came out, but the story seemed to be missing something. I finally decided I had to read it and I’m glad I did. Although I’m not giving it a perfect score, the book is highly recommended. But I’m sure most of those interested finished long ago.

Rating: 4.75

Responses

  1. Just out of curiosity, do you and your wife read from the same book or do each of you have your own copies?

  2. We each read from the same book. It really wasn’t a problem. We each have multiple books we are reading so we could always turn to something else if one of us was reading The Kite Runner.

  3. What did your wife think of the book?

  4. I am also wondering what the other half of the bookclub thought of the book!

  5. This is one that I read in a different manner than you- last year I had a flight with a 3 hour layover, so I read the book that day. Your point that the book involves one emotionally is right on. It didn’t take many pages to start caring about the characters.

  6. Stefanie and Tara – My wife just finished last night and we had our discussion. She felt like my score accurately reflected her opinion as well. She said she enjoyed it but there were some parts that were tough to read. If you’ve read it you can probably figure out what those were. That’s the best summary I can give, maybe I should have her come on and comment. 🙂

  7. […] 2 Balance of Opinion: 1 More Chapter, A Life in Books, A Variety of Words, Dog Ear Diary, Girls Just Reading, Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’?, The Armenian Odar Reads, The […]

  8. […] A Variety of Words […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

