Posted by: Matt | May 7, 2007

What Should I Read Next?

Vote!Okay, so this is kind of gimicky, but I thought it might be fun. I’m pretty horrible at making decisions. The unimportant ones anyway. Something huge, life altering, I can decide that in a few minutes. But ask me where I want to go for dinner and I freeze up. Trying to decide what I want to read next, well that’s a crisis. So here’s what I want to do. I’ve chosen four books from my TBR shelf, I want you to tell me which I should read next. Just cast your vote in the comments. I’m going to leave this open until 5 p.m. PDT/8 p.m. EDT (or whenever I get home from work and have a chance to look at the comments) Wednesday, May 9th. Vote for whichever one you’d like and for whatever reason you’d like, but please only vote once.

This could end up being a failure, meaning I only receive one vote, and it’s from my wife, because I made her. But I’m hoping it will be fun. This isn’t a Presidential election so your vote will actually count! And you don’t have to be a U.S. resident! So without further ado, here are the options:

A. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
B. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
C. Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
D. A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole

If you only vote once this year, make sure it’s here! Democracy in action! Exercise your right to vote! And all that…

Responses

  1. I vote for Cloud Atlas, for purely selfish reasons, because I am reading it now, too!

  2. Um, I know nothing about the presidential candidates (except Clinton but I’m not much of a fan) and I don’t know anything about these books (except A Confederacy of Dunces but I’m not much of a fan). If I were standing in the polling booth right now, I’d be doing the eeny meeny miny mo thing. That’s not much help, is it?

  3. I’m going to be selfish as well and vote for Infinite Jest. I would like to know if it is worth my time.

  4. Infinite Jest

  5. Hmmm, I guess I’m going to go with “Infinite Jest” since it’s on my TBR list and I think it’d be interesting to see what you think.

  6. Cloud Atlas because I;ve been meaning to read it for a while now!

  7. I’m with gentle and Marg for exactly the same reasons…

  8. Cloud Atlas, because it’s fabulous.

  9. I cast my vote for Cloud Atlas

  10. Sheesh….you could have made it an easier decision! I have 3 of the 4 on my TBR list. I going to vote for Cloud Atlas though. I really, really want to read that one soon!

  11. I’m going to vote for Infinite Jest. I have a very logical, and important reason for this: Matt seems to be finishing a book at least every other day. This book seems relatively big, so maybe it will take him more than three days to read.


Leave a Reply

Categories

