Posted by: Matt | May 9, 2007

The Results Are In!

The polls are closed and the votes have been tallied. No waiting up all night to see which way this election goes, no waiting on Florida to figure out how to work the ballot. There were a total of 11 votes, although one of those was more against a book than for one. I was pleased with the numbers, it was definitely more a success than a failure, no hanging chads anyway. I hope this was a fun little experiment for everyone.

It turned out to be a two horse, um, I mean book, race. So let us get to the final results…

Coming in 3rd, with 0 votes: Blood Meridian and A Confederacy of Dunces

The runner up, with 4 votes: Infinite Jest

And the winner, with 6 votes: Cloud Atlas

There you have it, I will be reading Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. I thought it might come down to these two books. I’ll be diving into the people’s choice right away, I’ll let you know what I think. Also, my wife voted for Infinite Jest so she was a bit disappointed, but I have to follow the majority, right?

Responses

  1. Heh heh. I think I cast the odd 11th vote, which would have gotten my ballot thrown out if I were in a polling booth since “abstain” isn’t an option here in NJ. Democracy at its finest.

    Hope you enjoy Cloud Atlas. 🙂

  2. marydell – Don’t worry, I don’t run things like they do at the polls. Sometimes I feel like abstaining in elections because none of the candidates represent my ideals.

    I hope I enjoy Cloud Atlas as well!

  3. I hope you enjoy Cloud Atlas, but it’s ok to throw out to vote and read what your wife wants to. Domestic peace can overrule the ballot, at least in this case 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

