Posted by: Matt | May 13, 2007

Short and to the Point

It seems that no matter how many books I am currently reading I always have a desire to start another. It is for that reason that I made a visit to the library to pick out a small stack of books. These were not just any books though, they had to meet a special requirement, they had to be under 300 pages. This is because I am already reading 2 books with another 2 scheduled to be started in the next 2 weeks for some small family book clubs. So I took a look at my TBR list, picked out all that were under 300 pages, and headed over to my local library.

I ended up carrying 6 books to the checkout counter:

  1. Firmin: Adventures of a Metropolitan Lowlife by Sam Savage (148 pgs)
  2. The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder (123 pgs)
  3. The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester (258 pgs)
  4. Red Harvest by Dashiell Hammett (216 pgs)
  5. The Mount by Carol Emshwiller (232 pgs)
  6. Gotz and Meyer by David Albahari (168 pgs)

I have already finished Firmin, only took 3 days reading. And I am about to start on The Bridge of San Luis Rey. The whole idea was to have something I could finish quickly, but without really rushing through it. Seems to be working pretty well so far. I think I’ll keep this idea going, I have several more books on the “under 300 pages” list.

Responses

  1. I can’t wait to hear what you thought of Firmin! I have it waiting in the wings just as soon as I finish the – oh – five or six books that are in que ahead of it.

    I’ve been reading short novels myself lately, though not by design. It is rather satisfying to be able to knock them out one after the other like that, isn’t it? For a slow reader like myself, it makes me feel like a regular speed demon. : )

  2. J.S. Peyton – It is nice to be able to knock them out like that. I just finished another short novel, The Bridge of San Luis Rey, and started another!


Leave a Reply

Categories

