Posted by: Matt | May 15, 2007

An Experiment in Reading

A short time ago I mentioned a website where you can sign up to have a book emailed to you in short chunks. That site is called DailyLit. I have been thinking about signing up for a book since that post but still had not done it. I finally decided to take the plunge.

The first part of Pride and Prejudice was received this morning. This is not the type of book I would normally read, which is why it is a perfect choice in this situation. The urge to read a “classic” has been strong lately. That, and the fact it is one of my wife’s favorite novels, led me to this decision. I am really not sure what to expect. I have never had a desire to read this book and it doesn’t sound interesting to me. So why am I reading it? Am I setting myself up for failure? Will I enjoy it? Will I be bored by it? I have no idea. It is an experiment.

Responses

  1. Matt, I’m tagging you for the 8 Things meme. The details are on my blog (no obligation if you don’t feel like it!)

    I wouldn’t be surprised if you were to find that you enjoy the book so much that you aren’t content with reading one small part each day. I think that’s most likely what would happen to me. I’m reading Great Expectations at the rate of one or two chapters each day and I’m finding it hard some days to feel the continuity that I normally feel when reading a long novel. I’m curious to see how this works out for you.

  2. I’m still enjoying The Age of Innocence from DailyLit…I’m surprised at how much I like it, because I thought the stopping and starting would bug me. But actually each little piece just whets my appetite for the next day’s piece. I don’t know how they do it–or maybe it’s how Wharton does it–but it always seems to stop at an intriguing spot. I hope you like Pride and Prejudice that way…and if not, try it as an audiobook–I’m sure you can find a version read by someone with a fabulous accent…

  3. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on P&P. I don’t think my husband would ever consider reading it, even knowing how much I love it. Good for you!

  4. I’m heading right over to DailyLit. It looks like a great idea, thanks!

  5. Sam – I’m trying to read two parts a day, so far it’s worked out okay. We’ll see what happens once I really get into the story.

    Gentle Reader – I did actually find an audio version of Pride and Prejudice on the site that I talked about with my first DailyLit post. And it was being read by an English lady!

    Tara – Well, if it weren’t for DailyLit I probably never would have read it. đŸ™‚

    Dewey – Hope you find something you like. And if so I’d love to hear about your experience!


Leave a Reply

Categories

