Posted by: Matt | May 16, 2007

The Shelf Gets Heavier

My Borders gift card has been burning a whole in my pocket so I headed over there last night. They also have a new batch of “3 for 2” books out now which is definitely a weakness for me. Had a tough time deciding, as usual, but I did eventually end up with 3 books from the “3 for 2” tables. I can’t resist, it’s my Kryptonite.

Picked up:

1491
1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus by Charles C. Mann – I read an article by the author in National Geographic which I found to be very intriguing, decided to pick up the book. He says that most of what we learned in school about pre-Columbus America was wrong.

The Hummingbird’s Daughter
The Hummingbird’s Daughter by Luis Alberto Urrea – Iliana at Bookgirl’s Nightstand posted about this book a few days ago, it sounded fascinating so I added it to my list. It was a pleasant surprise to find it on the “3 for 2” table.

Arthur and George
Arthur & George by Julian Barnes – I’ve seen this book in several different places on the web and been tempted to buy it several times. Yesterday I finally did.

All three books are over 400 pages, an unintentional but interesting coincidence. I beginning to wonder if I shouldn’t slow down on the book buying. But then I think about how many books most of the other bloggers out there have and I’m not even close, so maybe I should keep on buying!

I’ve noticed a lot of posts about book buying that include a picture of the stack, so I’m going to through one in just so I don’t feel left out!

Stack

Responses

  1. 1491 has been on my wishlist ever since it was published! I hope you’ll end up writing about it so I can find out if it’s good.

  2. Dewey – I will write about it someday after I read it, right now I just don’t know when that will be. 🙂 I did find that article in National Geographic quite good though, and I think it was kind of an excerpt from the book.

  3. I think these all sound great – good choices. For some reason, I love these photographs of stacks of books. I don’t know why, they just appeal to me so much. Thanks for showing your stack!


Leave a Reply

Categories

