Posted by: Matt | May 24, 2007

The Library, A Great Place to Buy Books

Stopped by the library the other day to pick up some books I had on hold and noticed they were having a book sale. Now they always have something on sale, but this time they had six racks of hardcovers that looked to be in good condition. And they were buy one, get one free. I decided to check it out, and I’m glad I did. I ended up with four books and spent a total of $1.25. It’s hard to beat that price. They have the library stickers on them but I can ignore those when the prices are so low.

Here’s what I brought home from the sale:

Not bad. Three of those are on my TBR list and the fourth seems to be worth the 50 cents I paid. I’m going to have to keep a look out for sales at the library from now on. It still amazes me how cheaply they sell those books.

Responses

  1. Nice little haul there, Matt. Just what you need…more books for your TBR list. 🙂

    You’re right about how cheaply most libraries seem to sell books. My local sells donated hardcovers for $3 each but they have a half-price special going all the month of May. I’ve stopped by a couple of times but walked away empty-handed both times because most of what they were selling just didn’t appeal to me at all. I was shocked that I left with nothing new on both trips. That very seldom happens to me when I surround myself with cheap books.

  2. Not bad is an understatement! I haven’t heard of the first one, but the others are real finds. well done!

  3. Sam Houston – I was surprised to actually find some books for sale that I wanted to read. I usually just dismiss the books they have on sale as not being interesting to me.

    Literary Acquisitionist – I was pleasantly surprised at what I found. I’m afraid that the copy of Shogun I found has some pages missing from the end, I need to look at a copy at the bookstore, but I only spent a quarter on it so I won’t be out too much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

