Posted by: Matt | May 29, 2007

Holiday Weekend Book Acquisitions

I obtained another quantity of books this past Memorial Day weekend. My wife seems to think my book buying is getting out of hand. I’m attempting to commit myself to not buying any more books until September. We will likely be taking a trip to the Seattle area to visit my family at that time and I just happen to know there are Half Price Books in that part of the country. I am hoping to go on a bit of book buying spree.

As for my holiday weekend acquisitions, I took advantage of a 3 for 2 deal on Barnes & Noble Classics and some good deals at Sam’s Club…

Dracula

Dracula by Bram Stoker – It’s a mystery to me why I haven’t already read this.

Great Expectations

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – For which I have great expectations. The only Dickens I’ve read is A Christmas Carol, it’s about time I read more.

The Age of Innocence

The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton – I’m not exactly sure why I chose this.

Water for Elephants

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen – I’ve read great things about this book, just came out in paperback.

One Hundred Years of Solitude

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez – Had this on my list for a few years now, finally found a copy without an Oprah sticker.

*******

I also wanted to mention something I saw posted on the Amazon.com Book Blog. New York Magazine has an interesting feature. They asked critics to name their favorite underrated books of the last ten years and listed the books on their site. I’ve already bookmarked the page and noted that I am currently reading one of the books and have one other on my TBR list. Most of them I’ve never heard of, I’ll have to check it out in more depth later.

Responses

  1. Water for Elephants is really good!! My husband jokes that since I am addicted to books and not crack or heroin that he guesses he should be supportive.

  2. The first half of Dracula was the scariest thing I’d ever read in high school, and I read a lot of scary stuff when I was in high school.

  3. I’m sure you’ll love Dracula, it’s very easy to get into the rhythm of.

  4. Those are all nice additions, Matt. I find myself being drawn back to the classics these days…more than I’ve been drawn their way in a long time. They are timeless. I’m hoping to read some of the more obscure work of some of our classic writers since it’s getting easier and easier to find ebook downloads on the net these days. I picked up one of those sony ebook readers and I’m finding that it is a nice way to capture some things that have been out of print since before I was born. 🙂

  5. I really enjoyed Water for Elephants. The Marquez book is on my list and I can’t commit to Dracula although I hear great things about it. Good luck on abstaining from book-buying until September.

  6. I like all your choices, too! I want to read Water for Elephants–I’m running across lots of references to it. And I’m really enjoying The Age of Innocence, by the way!

  7. Kelly – Books are certainly much better to be addicted to than those things. I’ll make sure to remind my wife!

    J.S. Peyton – You have me intrigued, Dracula might be the next book I read.

    Siew Cooper – Sounds like I made a good decision!

    Sam Houston – I haven’t read nearly enough of the classics so this is the beginning of my effort to read many more of them. I would love to have an ebook reader but I don’t think I can manage the cost…

    Framed – Sounds like I made a good decision with Water for Elephants also. And I’m going to need all the help I can get laying off the book buying.

    Gentle Reader – Glad to hear your still going on The Age of Innocence, looking forward to your final comments. I’m still receiving Pride and Prejudice from DailyLit, it’s interesting so far.

  8. I’ve never read Dracula before either, it’s always lurked at the back of my mind as a book I should read but just never got around to. I should change that! Some day.

  9. I’ve only read a couple Dickens but Great Expectations was one of them and I really enjoyed it. I’ve had One Hundred Years of Solitude on my list for years too. One of these days. I found you through Dewey’s Blogroll game and just added you to my Google Reader. 🙂

  10. Imani – Dracula has always been there in the back of my mind also, this was my first step in actually reading it.

    Tanabata – Thanks for visiting! Everyone seems to enjoy Dickens so I really need to start reading his novels.

  11. Oh I did not need to know that B&N was having a sale on their Classics! 🙂 I may just have to go there for lunch!

  12. Some great picks here! That underrated book list sounds fascinating. I’m always on the lookout for books that I might miss just because they didn’t get a lot of press. And some of the books that get the most press are the biggest waste of time, don’t you think?

  13. I’m a fan of Wharton and Marquez so I hope you like both books and explore their other books if you do. Great Expectations is the only Dickens I’ve read so I should get on Bleak House, David Copperfield, etc… one day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

