Posted by: Matt | June 1, 2007

May Breakdown

I had another record month in May. Completed a total of 10 books thanks to some shorter reads which I breezed through. Just barely missed making it 11 as I finished Cloud Atlas today. I also gave out my lowest rating of the year so far. I have now read a total of 28 books this year. Even though this is the first year I’ve kept track of what books I’ve read, I would guess that this is the most books I’ve ever read in one year. And it’s only June!

Books read in May:

  1. Blindness by Jose Saramago
  2. Killing Floor by Lee Child
  3. Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers by Mary Roach
  4. Firmin: Adventures in a Metropolitan Lowlife by Sam Savage
  5. The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder
  6. The Stars My Destination by Alfred Bester
  7. Red Harvest by Dashiell Hammett
  8. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  9. The Mount by Carol Emshwiller
  10. Being Dead by Jim Crace

I plan on focusing on reading books I own over the next couple months. My TBR shelf is completely full, I need to make some room for more books. Many of the books I own are quite lengthy so I doubt I’ll be seeing a 10 book month again anytime soon.

As I said above, I finished Cloud Atlas today, a very good book, and look forward to starting I Am Legend next.

Responses

  1. What a great month you had! I also have been trying to focus on reading books I own. Oh but the lure of the library is hard to ignore sometimes 🙂

  2. Wow, fantastic month! Looking forward to your final thoughts on Cloud Atlas. I’m also looking forward to what you think of I am Legend. Be sure to rent the movie Omega Man starring Charlton Heston after you finish it. And then watch the Vincent Price version called Last Man on Earth.

  3. Oh! Stiff is on my TBR list. Let me know if you ever want to do another interview, and we could do that book. Unless… it’s not the lowest rating book you mentioned, is it?

  4. Wow, I’m impressed! I only managed that many in January and I put it up to a fluke. I enjoyed Firmin’ too when I read it. It ended with the best closing paragraph I’ve read in a long time.

  5. Iliana – I know what you mean, I’ve already caught myself looking at books I really want to read on the library website!

    Stefanie – I’ll have to check out those movies, another movie based on I Am Legend is coming out later this year. It stars Will Smith.

    Dewey – No, Stiff isn’t the lowest rated book that I mentioned, that was Being Dead. Another interview would be great!

    Imani – I was surprised to find that I had read that many books. My wife is jealous as she doesn’t get nearly as many books read, she doesn’t get a lunch break with the little one crawling around everywhere.

  6. Speaking of interviews, the interview with you about Atonement is now posted!

    I’ll email you about Stiff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

