Posted by: Matt | June 5, 2007

News and Notes

I posted previously that Daniel Craig had dropped out of a movie adaptation of the novel Blindness. I learned today, again through Cinematical, that Mark Ruffalo has stepped in to take the role of the doctor. I don’t have anything against Ruffalo but I have to say that I think Daniel Craig was a much better choice for the role.

*******

Dewey from The Hidden Side of a Leaf has posted an interview with me about the novel Atonement. It was the first time I’d ever had the privilege of being interviewed. Head on over and check it out.

*******

I stopped by Barnes and Nobel last night. They still have the 3 for 2 sale going on with their mass market paperback Classics. I picked up The Three Musketeers and Robinson Crusoe while my wife expanded her Jane Austen collection with Emma.

*******

We also made a run to the library to find out about their adult Summer reading program. If you read 8 books between June 1st and August 31st you receive a free book and bookmark. I’m not sure if they will have certain books you get to choose from, or if it’s an old library book or a brand new one. I certainly plan on finding out. In fact, I’ve almost finished my first book for the program, I Am Legend.

Responses

  1. Borders also has a 3 for 2 for their trade paperback fiction.

  2. Congratulations on being interviewed; you’re famous!

  3. Congrats on the interview!
    I know my public library has a reading program for teens but I don’t think they do for adults. Hmm, I need to go check it out. Yours sounds good.

  4. Kelly – Believe me I know about the Borders deal, I’ve spent a lot of money there because of that deal! 🙂

    marydell – Well I wouldn’t say I’m famous, but almost.

    iliana – I was a bit surprised that our library had a program for adults. I’m excited to see what book I’m going to receive.

  5. I’m a Big fan of Alexandre Dumas!! Loved the 3 Muskateers as well as The Count of Monte Cristo. I also used I am Legend as one of my books for the Something About Me challenge. Mostly because I just love vampires!! Hope you are enjoying it!

  6. Congrats on the interview. And way to stock up on the classics! I love the B&N 3 for 2 classics sales.

  7. Stephanie – I also enjoyed The Count of Monte Cristo which is why I decided to pick up The Three Musketeers. I’m a bit of a fan of vampires as well…

    Stefanie – I decided it was time to get to some of the classics, at least those that interest me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

