Posted by: Matt | June 7, 2007

Stats Class

StatsTime to admit something, I am a stats whore. I look at my blog stats something like 5 times a day. It got so bad that the built-in WordPress stats weren’t good enough for me. I needed more. I had looked at a couple of options but because WordPress doesn’t allow Javascript I couldn’t find what I wanted.

Then I noticed a little icon at the bottom of So Many Books and BiblioAddict for Site Meter. It’s just what I was looking for. You still don’t get as much information using the HTML option as you do with Javascript but it’s pretty nice. And it even includes a map pinpointing all of your visits! If you know what I do for a living you know I love maps. How outstanding is that?! So yeah, just had to let you know.

Responses

  1. Site Meter is pretty cool, Matt. Like you, I’m a slave to statistics by nature so I find the information to be very helpful, especially because it tells me what searches are finding my site. I had an email from the Site Meter people the other day telling me that I could expand the map to include 500 hits rather than the 100 max that I have now but I haven’t figured out yet how to change the settings.

  2. Sam Houston – I think to change it to 500 max you have to sign up for the fee service. So unless you’re paying for it I don’t think you can do 500 hits.

  3. I love the World Map which shows you where visitors to your site are from. I’m always shocked at some of the places, like wow! someone all the way from the Philippines visited my site?! How cool.

  4. I use Google Analytics, and yes I’m a bit of a stats whore as well, although I’m not as obsessive as when I first discovered it a few months ago.

  5. My site is hosted on a server that I pay for space on, and I get two pretty good stat programs from them. But, of course, you can’t have too much information so I also use Site Meter. Another easy way to see who links to you is to run your site through Technorati.

  6. J.S. Peyton – I know exactly what you mean. I love looking at the map, amazed by where people are viewing my blog.

    Siew Cooper – Yeah, my obsession with stats was beginning to wane until I found Site Meter, I’m sure it will calm down after awhile.

    marydell – I’ll have to check out Technorati. I’ve been thinking about moving my blog to a different hosted server, but I’m not ready to spend the money yet.

  7. Matt, that was the case until a couple of weeks ago and then they sent this note:

    “We took the old free log size of 100 and multiplied it by 5 to give you
    even more info on your visitors. Please note that this increase applies to
    ALL StatCounter members, and to ALL projects!”

    But, of course, I still can’t figure out how to make it work.

  8. I like sitemeter, too. And I’m a little obsessive about checking it. The map is my favorite function!

  9. I with you all! I love looking at how many people love me…I mean read my blog each day. Especially the map – it is so cool to have people to connect with from all over the world, who I would never meet otherwise! Siew and Sam are two recent examples!

  10. gentle reader – The map is the main reason I like Site Meter so much.

    Ted – It is definitely neat to be able to connect with so many people.

  11. I like looking at the searches that brought people to my site and I enjoy looking at the domains of my visitors. I was freaked out for awhile last year when someone from the department of defense was visiting regularly. They started showing up after I posted some stuff about the Patriot Act. Can you say paranoid?


Leave a Reply

Categories

