Posted by: Matt | June 8, 2007

Book Awards Reading Challenge

Book Awards Reading Challenge

The Book Awards Reading Challenge is a fantastic idea for a reading challenge. I have considered doing something similar as a personal challenge but then this came up. The idea in a nutshell is to, “Read any 12 award-winning books from July 1, 2007 through June 30, 2008.” This is only the second challenge I’ve joined and I’m looking forward to getting started. I ended up with 19 books on my list so I’m posting 12 plus 7 alternates.

  1. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood (Man Booker)
  2. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (Hugo, Nebula)
  3. Europe Central by William Vollmann (National Book Award)
  4. The Adventures of Augie March by Saul Bellow (National Book Award)
  5. Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison (National Book Award)
  6. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Nobel)
  7. Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Orange)
  8. War Trash by Ha Jin (Pen/Faulkner)
  9. Beloved by Toni Morrison (Pulitzer, Nobel)
  10. A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole (Pulitzer)
  11. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (Pulitzer)
  12. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton (Pulitzer)

I didn’t have Half of a Yellow Sun on my TBR list before but looked into it signing up for this challenge. People have been raving about it so I decided to throw it in the mix.

And now for some alternates just in case I decide to change it up a bit.

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood (Governor General, Arthur C. Clarke)
  2. Perdido Street Station by China Mieville (Arthur C. Clarke)
  3. Spin by Robert Charles Wilson (Hugo)
  4. Bel Canto by Ann Patchett (Pen/Faulkner, Orange)
  5. The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck (Pulitzer)
  6. Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry (Pulitzer, Spur)
  7. Seeker by Jack McDevitt (Nebula)

Nearly every one of these book was already on my list, and some I had been putting off, but no longer!

Responses

  1. Invisible Man? Yes, yes, YES!

  2. I reviewed Half of a Yellow Sun as my first proper post – it is a gem. I can’t wait for Adichie’s next book!

    I highly rate Beloved as well, although maybe because it made Oprah’s Book Club, I rate other Morrison books more highly…

  3. This challenge is tempting me, too. Love your choices. My husband has Ender’s Game on his list. I think I need to get Half of a Yellow Sun for myself.

  4. Arukiyomi – I have actually read your review of Invisible Man, it is one of the reasons it has moved up my list.

    Siew Cooper – After deciding on Half of a Yellow Sun for this challenge I’ve gotten quite excited about reading it. Seems that nearly everyone likes it.

    gentle reader – I’ve been wanting to read Ender’s Game for a long time, now I have more motivation to read it.

  5. If I can make a suggestion, replace Blind Assassin with Handamade’s Tale. Much better read in my opinion.

  6. Handamade? Sheesh, that’s a bad typo. Handmaid.

  7. John Mutford – I plan on reading The Handmaid’s Tale at some point, the main reason I put The Blind Assassin on my list was because I had actually started reading it the night before so I figured I’d just put it off a month and include it in the challenge.

  8. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed both.

  9. You’ve got some fantastic books on your list! Looking forward to following your reading challenge progress 🙂

  10. Ooh you’ve got some great books in there. I loved Confederacy of Dunces. That just made me laugh so much. Hope you enjoy your challenge and good luck.

  11. Thanks for visiting my post. I am really intrigued by your choices and the comments. Some will have to go on the TBR list. Look forward to your reviews.

  12. iliana – Glad you liked Confederacy of Dunces, I’ve been wanting to read it for some time now.

    Framed – And thank you for visiting my post!


Leave a Reply

Categories

