Posted by: Matt | June 17, 2007

Making the List

First of all, Happy Father’s Day!

I thought I would start a new tradition here on the blog. Every weekend, probably Sunday, I will write about books I have added to my TBR list over the past week. That is, of course, if I have added any. This might be a good way to let people know about books they would not have otherwise heard about, it’s always a fear of mine that I’ll miss out on reading a terrific book because I never heard about it. This past week I added four novels to the list.

  • A Good and Happy Child by Justin Evans – “Eleven-year-old George Davies’ father, a self-purported mystic and studier of demonology, dies a mysterious death after traveling to Honduras for equally mysterious purposes. Soon after, George is visited by a “Friend” that only he can see, who leads him on thrilling yet terrifying journeys to a shadowy ether-world, pulling him ever closer to a dangerous awareness of his father’s death.”
  • What the Dead Know by Laura Lippman – “A driver who flees a car accident on a Maryland highway breathes new life into a 30-year-old mystery—the disappearance of the young Bethany sisters at a shopping mall—after she later tells the police she’s one of the missing girls. As soon as the mystery woman drops that bombshell, she clams up, placing the new lead detective, Kevin Infante, in a bind, as he struggles to gain her trust while exploring the odd holes in her story.”
  • Sepharad by Antonio Molina – “Acclaimed Spanish novelist Munoz Molina’s elegiacally beautiful novel begins with a poetic meditation on the bittersweet nostalgia that seizes those who live in exile. Now in Madrid, Munoz Molina’s wistful narrator bemoans the fact that memories of his village boyhood are fading quickly and irretrievably. But it soon becomes clear that the past the narrator and the author are truly grappling with encompasses the entire Sephardic diaspora and the unfathomable horror and mass insanity of Hitler’s and Stalin’s regimes.”
  • Shipwrecks by Akira Yoshimura – “Tells the tale of Isaku, a 9-year-old boy who is forced to scrounge to provide for his desperately poor family. For the people of the medieval Japanese village in which Isaku lives, the only relief from near starvation comes in the guise of the shipwrecks of the title. To lure merchant ships off course, the villagers light huge bonfires. But even their success turns to disaster when the wreckage of one such ship includes not only rice, but smallpox.”
Responses

  1. I’m reading What the Dead Know right now, Matt…and loving it. I’ve got to get it back to the library on Tuesday because I’m leaving on a one-week road trip and the thing has been requested by another 30 people. I think you’ll like this one.

  2. Glad you’re liking it, I don’t typically read the mystery type of books but it sounded interesting. Also, I always fear having to return a book unfinished to the library because it’s been put on hold. But usually I read them fast enough that it’s not a problem.

  3. The Molina book sounds great. I’ll have to add that one to my list. I already have A Good & Happy Childhood on it too. I do recommend Shiprwrecks. Fantastic book.

  4. What kills me is the way that I might have six books on hold for four or five weeks and then four of them show up at the same time and that means I can read nothing else but those four books for the next two weeks. Seems to happen to me a lot.

  5. iliana – I actually added A Good and Happy Child to my list after reading about it on your site. I’ve been thinking I might have to order Shipwrecks soon, they don’t have it at my local library…

    Sam Houston – I know what you mean, it’s the reason I usually try to only have one book on hold, or I try to wait until the book has been out long enough that no one else is really reading it and I can have it all to myself.

  6. Happy Father’s Day! I’ve heard What the Dead Know is good–thanks for mentioning. I feel the same way–always worried about the books I might be missing, so thanks for keeping me updated–will check in on your TBR list update days!

  7. What a great idea! I’ve only heard of one of the books, What the Dead Know. They all look interesting.

  8. gentle reader – Thanks! Hopefully you will find something interesting and good to read from these posts.

    Stefanie – What the Dead Know was the first one of these that I heard of, and I’ve read great things about all of these books.

  9. I like this new tradition!! Hmmmm…..I may have to steal shamelessly for my blog!! I haven’t heard of any of these books, but a couple sound really interesting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

