Posted by: Matt | June 18, 2007

Father’s Day Books

It was certainly a very bookish Father’s Day for me yesterday. My daughter, who is nearly 1 year old now and who is taking a peek below, gave me a membership to the Quality Paperback Book Club. The books did not arrive in time so I am looking forward to receiving 7 new books sometime soon. I won’t tell you what they are yet, that will have to wait until they arrive. Checking the mailbox is going to be one of the key events of my day until they arrive…

My Beautiful Daughter

My wife’s gift was a box from Amazon.com. Inside were some books I have really been looking forward to acquiring. The contents:

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – I’ve seen several reviews of this book on different blogs and it seems everyone loves it. I don’t usually read YA books but I couldn’t pass on this one with everyone gushing about it.
  • The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami – Read about Murakami on The Millions blog a few weeks ago and decided I should try one of his books. This was held up by many as his best.
  • Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson – A Sci-Fi novel, specifically Cyber-punk, that has been reviewed highly. It is even on Times 100 Greatest Books list.

Father’s Day Books

I will be sure to post about my QPB books when they arrive.

Responses

  1. What a nice bookish day you had! Can’t wait to hear about your seven books that will be arriving in the mail. I loved Book Thief. Have been meaning to read Snow Crash and anything by Murakami since I’ve yet to read him. Hope those books arrive soon!

  2. As for Murakami, I wouldn’t bother with Kafka on the Shore.
    http://johnandsheena.co.uk/books/?p=22

  3. You’re a lucky dad!

    Also by Murakami, I enjoyed Norwegian Wood (even though I didn’t totally understand it).

  4. I’m a Murakami fan who enjoyed Kafka so at least give it a try before you decide whether to pass it by or not. Wind Up Bird Chronicle is fantastic but it’s Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World that is it for me. It has…everything really. Norwegian is good stuff too. Marydell who ever understands everything in Murakami’s novels? :p That’s part of his appeal for me. Great for re-reading.

    Happy belated Father’s Day, Matt!

  5. stefanie – That’s why I got The Book Thief, everyone loves it. 🙂 I need to get to all three of these soon.

    Arukiyomi – Kafka On the Shore is not on the top of my Murakami list…

    marydell – I am a lucky dad, but it mostly has to do with the gift givers and not the gifts!

    imani – Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World is the next Murakami book I will be reading, if I like Wind-Up Bird that is. And thanks!

  6. A Happy Father’s Day Matt, albeit belated. What cool books you received! I, too, cannot wait to find out what you got from QPB. I was a member a long time ago and have collected some fantastic books from them. I have a copy of “The Book Thief”, just waiting for my daughter to finish reading it before I get my paws onto it. I have never read Murakami, but I so want to!

    Your daughter is adorable!

  7. Imani, so true. Reading various book blogger posts about his work, it makes me wonder if they really know what they’re talking about or if they’re making stuff up to make it sound like they know what they’re talking about. Just so you know, I hardly ever really know what I’m talking about.

    I have Wind-Up Bird around here somewhere…Gah! Too many books!

  8. Aww what a sweet pic of your little girl. Looks like you had a great day. I want to read the Murakami book too. I’ve read a couple of his other books and loved them so just waiting for the right time I guess.

  9. Lotus Reads – I am looking forward to getting into The Book Thief because I have heard such great things. I also really like the cover for some reason, and I was a bit surprised when it showed up in hardcover because of the low price.

    marydell – So am I to understand from you and Imani that Murakami’s writing is difficult to understand?

    iliana – Which of Murakami’s books have you read? I just recently heard about him so I’m a little behind…

  10. Oh his writing is plain as plain can be, that should be a cinch. It’s the weird adventures his characters reluctantly participate in that are the head scratchers more often than not. But I wouldn’t worry as Murakami’s prosaic style takes you right along so you don’t realise you’re wtfing until much later. ‘Course I started off with Kafka, which was a comparably “easy” entry into his narratives.

  11. What a wonderful Father’s Day you had!! And a great haul too! I loved The Book Thief!! It may be considered YA, but I don’t think age group for which it’s intended will be affected by it like the adults. It’s a wonderful book! The best I’ve read this year.

    By the way, your daughter is just beautiful!

  12. Happy Father’s Day, Matt. What great gifts, I always love getting (and giving) books! I loved The Book Thief and have The Wind Up Bird Chronicle on my to-read list right now.

    Can’t wait to see what else you got!

  13. imani – Strange adventures are alway fascinating to read about, I look forward to taking in some of his writing.

    Stephanie – The subject of The Book Thief definitely appears to be mature enough to be of interest to adults. And thanks for the compliment on my daughter!

    Kristin – There are so many books coming in the QPB Club order that I sometimes forget them all, so it will be a surprise when it arrives.

  14. I started to read Snow Crash for a post-mod class a year or so ago, but was only able to get 1/2 through because of other demands. I remember really liking it though; I guess maybe I should get to that… I’ve heard that The Book Thief is fabulous!


Leave a Reply

Categories

