Posted by: Matt | June 21, 2007

Reading for Fun and Profit

As I mentioned in my review, Never Let Me Go was the book my wife and I read for our two-person book club. For the most part, my wife agreed with my judgments on that book. I will be starting the next book for our club tonight. The book we have chosen to read next is Suite Francaise. I don’t recall what this book is about but I do know that it has received rave reviews. I am looking forward to seeing what all of the fuss is about.

*******

I also wanted to mention a children’s reading program sponsored by Barnes & Noble. The program is called Summer Reading in the Magic Tree House. In short, children are to read 8 books this summer and record their favorite parts in a reading journal. Their parents then sign off on the entry. The child can then bring this journal to Barnes & Noble between May 29th and September 2nd and receive a free book! Nothing better than a free book, especially when to earn it you just have to keep doing what you enjoy doing anyway. I don’t have a child old enough to participate, I don’t think my reading Goodnight Moon eight times to my daughter qualifies, but if you do it sounds like a fun idea!

Responses

  1. Never Let Me Go and Suite Francaise were both picks from our bookclub as well. Looking forward to your review.


Leave a Reply

Categories

