Posted by: Matt | June 25, 2007

Booklist Meme

This meme has been going around for quite awhile now, though just about everywhere I’ve found it the rules have been just a bit different. I’m also adjusting the rules to fit my taste.

* Bold the ones you’ve read, or are reading
(Blue means I particularly enjoyed it,
Red means I did not enjoy it)
* Italicize the ones you want to read
* Leave blank the ones that you neither want to read nor don’t want to read
* Strike the ones you have no desire to read
* If you are reading this, tag, you’re it!

1. The DaVinci Code (Dan Brown)
2. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
3. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
5. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien)
6. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
7. The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)
8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
9. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon)
10. A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
11. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)
12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
13. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
16. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Rowling)
17. Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald)
18. The Stand (Stephen King)
19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Rowling)
20. Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)
22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
26. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
28. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
30. Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
34. 1984 (Orwell)
35. The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)
37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel)
42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
45. The Bible
46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
54. Great Expectations (Dickens)
55. The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
57. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
60. The Time Traveller’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger)
61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
63. War and Peace (Tolstoy)
64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)
65. Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
67. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Ann Brashares)
68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
69. Les Miserables (Hugo)
70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupery)
71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Marquez)
73. Shogun (James Clavell)
74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
76. The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
78. The World According to Garp (John Irving)
79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
80. Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
81. Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
84. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
85. Emma (Jane Austen)
86. Watership Down (Richard Adams)
87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
88. The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
90. Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
91. In The Skin Of A Lion (Ondaatje)
92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
93. The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum)
96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford)
99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
100. Ulysses (James Joyce)

I’ve read 24 out 100, and yes, I’ve read the Bible in its entirety. 24% isn’t too impressive. There are quite a few more that I want to read, and if you see any books on the list you think I should read that I haven’t italicized feel free to let me know.

Responses

  1. Given my scant knowledge of what you like I’ll say – try out
    Fifth Business
    A Fine Balance
    Great Expectations
    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (even though it might be considered YA)
    And I haven’t myself read Blindness yet but, knowing a good friend’s taste very well, and what you like, – you might appreciate it.

  2. I’ll one up that and declare I’ve read the Bible twice!

    I’ve read 34 plus 2 currently are being read.

  3. I’ve seen this list around, but I’ve been wondering: Where exactly does it come from? I mean, the titles and their order seem pretty random.

  4. Stay away from The Celestine Prophecy. I can see you’re not interested in it as you haven’t marked it, but still: STAY FAR, FAR AWAY.

  5. Ted – I’ve actually got Great Expectations on the shelf. I’ll have to check out the others, I think we have A Tree Grows in Brooklyn somewhere in the house as well. And I’ve read Blindness, it might have been hard to tell that it was bolded, but I thought it was just okay.

    Siew – I guess I’ve got some work to do! Hope it didn’t sound like I was bragging about the Bible thing. I think I’ve read the New Testament a couple of times but the Old Testament only once.

    marydell – I have no idea who made up the list, but I think it’s supposed to be pretty random.

    Bibliolatrist – Don’t have any idea what The Celestine Prophecy is about but I’ll take your word for it.

  6. Have you ever read any Wallace Stegner, Matt? He’s not on the list, but I think he’d be right up your alley.

  7. I’ve read 39 and I’m slowly working through The Bible. Seems to be a pretty Canadian-centric list, doesn’t it?

    I’ll echo Bibliotrist’s comment- avoid the Celestine Prophecy. Ewwww.

    And I thought I was the only one left not to read To Kill A Mockingbird.

  8. Oh and as for ones not italicized that you might want to reconsider, I really enjoyed The Diviners and Fall On Your Knees was pretty good. Though since we don’t always see eye to eye, I’m not recommending them necessarily.

  9. Ted – I haven’t read any Wallace Stegner, though the name sounds familiar. I will have to take a look.

    John Mutford – I didn’t have any idea that it was Canadian-centric, I usually don’t pay attention to the author’s nationality. It’s funny how we’ve decided we don’t often agree when really we’ve only disagreed on two books.

  10. Well, as I told Nymeth–its a totally arbitrary list. I’m not sure who developed it and how the person came up with such random titles, but it was fun doing the meme.

    I agree it does seem to lean heavily towards Canadian authors. But who can resist a little Atwood?

  11. Actually Matt, looking at your blues and reds, we have a few more disagreements I’m afraid. I enjoyed the two Steinbeck novels and Brave New World, and I didn’t enjoy The Great Gatsby. Fortunately, we agree on the others (except I haven’t read Dune or The Kite Runner). Regardless, I like debating the books when we don’t agree!

  12. John – I think I’m the only one who doesn’t like Steinbeck. I really can’t recall ever reading or hearing anything bad about his books. And I’m surprised I didn’t like Brave New World since I’m usually into stuff like that. I’m not sure if you’d like The Kite Runner or not, but I think Dune is one of the best sci-fi novels ever written. And sometimes it’s more interesting when you don’t agree…

  13. If you’re interested in giving Steinbeck another chance, you could try The Pearl, that’s a great one.

  14. Oh. Well I’m pretty sure I commented on this post ages ago, but I guess it got lost in spam. 😦

    I have to say that I loved The Celestine Prophecy when I was about 11 or so. I thought it was a great jungle adventure. Little did I know that it was supposed to be some kind of weird New Age manifesto about auras and….stuff.

  15. Oh! I love The Pearl. I second that recommendation.

  16. John Mutford – I will take a look at The Pearl, but after having read and not enjoyed two of his books I can’t promise anything. 🙂

    imani – Sorry it lost your comment, my blog has even thrown my comments in the spam before! I know nothing about The Celestine Prophecy, now I’ll have to at least look at it on Amazon.

  17. Matt, I hate Steinbeck. You are definitely not alone. Not only did I hate Of Mice and Men and Grapes of Wrath, but I have indeed read The Pearl. If you don’t like the others you probably won’t like that one. As you know, however, books that are depressing merely for the sake of being depressing (whatever art-house appeal they may have) are not really my style.

  18. Brandi – I still have no idea what The Pearl is about, I’ll have to at least read a synopsis, probably won’t be reading it anytime soon if I do read it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

