Posted by: Matt | June 26, 2007

A Delightfully Tall Stack of Books

I was pleasantly surprised retrieving the mail yesterday when I found a large box addressed to me. Of course it was my books from the Quality Paperback Book Club. I love receiving packages, it’s especially exciting when there are 7 books inside. The books, as they appear from top to bottom in the photo, are:

  • What is the What by Dave Eggers – I had been wanting to buy this but I try to stay away from hardcover books to save money. QPB has a selection of early paperback release books and this was one of them so I had to choose it.
  • No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy – After reading The Road and especially Blood Meridian, McCarthy is becoming one of my favorite authors. I’ve had my eye on this book for awhile.
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger – This is one of those novels I keep hearing good things about until I decide I have to get it. Hope I won’t be disappointed.
  • The Children of Hurin by J.R.R. Tolkien – This one is hardcover, don’t ask me what it’s doing in the Paperback club. Reviews have been mixed but, hey, it’s Tolkien…
  • Giraffe by J.M. Ledgard – This is apparently another early release paperback. My sister also picked it up after I recommended it because it’s about animals, and animals are her work.
  • The Stolen Child by Keith Donohue – It has been compared to Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell which I quite enjoyed. It has also been described as a “bedtime story for adults.” Intrigued?
  • Black Swan Green by David Mitchell – Cloud Atlas was a fantastic book and this is the authors most recent novel. Decided I need to read more of his work.

QPB Books

I wanted to dive right in, start reading all of them, but I’ve got quite a backlog right now. It’s only going to get worse tomorrow, the madness continues when our Amazon order arrives. Yes, I’ve been going book crazy…

Responses

  1. Time Traveller’s Wife and Tolkien are on my must read too; I look forward to when you pick them up!

  2. Looks like you have a bunch of great new books, too! Which to open first? It’s tough when you have so many good options!

  3. Oh, look at that tidy pile! You’ve been on a bit of a new book binge lately and I must say I ma jealous. You are going to cause me to go to the bookstore just so I can feel better. I never realized just how evil you were Matt until just now 😉

  4. That’s a nice pile you have there. Especially since I’ve had my covetous eye on five of those. What is this Paperback Quality Book Club? Is it worth the membership?

  5. Siew – I look forward to it also, it seems like with my book club and challenges I have all my reading planned out each month, which is kind of a bummer sometimes.

    gentle reader – I practically freeze up when I have to decide which to read, sometimes I can’t make any decision at all!

    Stefanie – Sorry, didn’t intend to be evil. But if I’m causing you to go to the bookstore it can’t be all bad can it?

    J.S. Peyton – The Quality Paperback Club seems to be a pretty decent club. One thing you should be aware of is that they often print their own editions of books, so nearly all of the books I received are a bit different than those you’d find in a bookstore. They still appear to be of good quality, but this might bother some people. I think it has so far been worth the membership. I got all of these books for just short of $30. And I only have to buy one more book to complete my obligation. The early release versions are nice too! You can email me if you have more questions about it.

  6. Look at that! I haven’t ordered from QPB in such a long time. Enjoy your books. I know I want to read The Stolen Child too.

  7. Receiving books in the mail is a real treat! I got a package just today, which I have yet to open if you can believe it. Quick, feel my forehead! Do I have a fever?

    I’m trying to avoid all book clubs at the moment. I figured it might help keep my TBR collection from growing any more, but sadly, that hasn’t been the case. I once joined Zooba thinking that an automatic book a month would take care of my “must acquire new book” syndrome, but alas, no luck there either.

    You have a wonderful selection there, by the way. I say that not because I have read any of them, but because several of them are among my TBR collection. 🙂 Enjoy your new treasures!

  8. iliana – I will definitely enjoy them! I don’t know anyone who has read The Stolen Child but it sounds good.

    Literary Feline – I don’t know how you’re doing it! I have to open packages immediately!
    I’ve considered joining Zooba, sounds like a neat idea.
    It certainly is difficult to keep that syndrome in check. I’m failing miserably.

  9. I tried to read The Stolen Child earlier this month and just couldn’t get in to it. I think I’ll try again later…I just don’t have the patience for something that doesn’t grab me right off at this point. Your list definitely makes me want to check this book club out…like I need an excuse!

  10. Kristin – Hopefully I will have a better experience with The Stolen Child. I guess that’s the risk you take with buying instead of borrowing…

  11. OH my goodness…everytime I happen to come by your blog you have a picture with a large stack of new books! As Napoleon Dynamite would say: “Luckyyyyy.” 🙂 I LOVED The Time Traveler’s Wife…certainly would I would love to re-read.

  12. Oh ya, I’ll be interested in what you have to say about No Country for Old Men after reading your reviews of his other two books. Hope you don’t mind if I add you to my blogroll…

  13. Trish – Napoleon Dynamite is incredible, love the quote! And I don’t mind at all if you add me to your blogroll. I’m predicting that I will enjoy No Country for Old Men, but we’ll see…


Leave a Reply

Categories

