Posted by: Matt | June 27, 2007

A Thing Like LibraryThing

goodreads

I recently found a site that is quite similar to LibraryThing. The site is called goodreads. It is a way to catalog your books and also review and rate them. The site also focuses on community and connecting with other readers. One thing goodreads has going for it is that there is no limit to the number of books you can catalog on a free account. LibraryThing has a 200 book limit unless you pay for your account. If you love to keep track of your books I suggest you check it out. I still haven’t decided if I like it more than LibraryThing, still giving it a test run.

Responses

  1. The problem with sites that don’t charge like LibraryThing is that, well, they’re never as well-developed. 😀 Where are the tags, the various databases to search for my books, the option to upload my own cover, the links to various book sites besides Amazon, mass editing powers etc. I think goodreads is a different site than LibraryThing in its conception — it seems more geared towards being a social site rather than a book catalogue. Everything is built around the friends function.

  2. I’ll check this out some time, though Imani’s got a good point; I love LibraryThing and its functionality, and I paid for the extra space because I know I’ll be using it a lot (and have been).

  3. imani – I have to agree that some neat features in LibraryThing seem to be missing in goodreads. And goodreads does focus more on the community aspect, which I’m not as into. My inclination has been to stick with LibraryThing, but I thought I’d throw goodreads out there for people to take a look.

    Siew – I haven’t required the extra space so far, but at the rate my book collection is growing now it won’t be long before I need it.

  4. I’m on goodreads as well – a friend of mine invited me and I liked it when I first started. I haven’t used it too much because I use ‘Shelfari’ more than anything. Which is like Library Thing and goodreads. It’s hard to decide which is a better resource, I get so much more information from browsing all my favorite blogs.

  5. verbivore – I’ll have to take a look at Shelfari, haven’t heard of it.

  6. I just spent a few minutes visiting goodreads. It’s not my cup of tea either. I like the pre-made groups at LibraryThing where I can simply join and participate.

    Goodreads would put me in the position of pressuring friends to participate. Not something I want to do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

