Posted by: Matt | June 28, 2007

The Flood of Books Continues

The flood of books continues. My wife and I took advantage of a free trial of Amazon Prime by loading up on some books. This stack does not include the books that she purchased and pre-ordered. I am now pretty much out of shelf space. Not sure what to do with any books I might receive from here on out. I guess I had better started reading faster!

My stack of books, from top to bottom, includes:

  • Warlock by Oakley Hall – The NYRB Classics have been popular recently. This is my first book from the catalog. It’s a Western based on Wyatt Earp, a figure who has intrigued me for years.
  • Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry – Another Western, which is odd because I don’t think of myself as a fan. This won the 1986 Pulitzer Prize. I promised in an earlier post I would purchase this eventually and here it is!
  • Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee by Dee Brown – I’ve had this on my list for years and finally bought it. It sounds like a heartbreaking book. I believe that HBO recently produced and aired a movie based on this book.
  • His Dark Materials Omnibus by Philip Pullman – This is the His Dark Materials trilogy all in one volume. I heard about this series a few years ago, hearing about the upcoming film adaptation of the first book in the series reminded me I wanted to read it.
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini – My wife and I read The Kite Runner for our first family book club. This was released shortly after and I’ve read in numerous places that it is better.

Amazon Books

Five more to add to the TBR shelf.  And I think my book buying binge is over, at least until September.  As I’ve mentioned before, we’ll be headed up to the Seattle area and I plan on visiting Half Priced Books.  Should be fun, now I’ve got to get in some serious reading…

Responses

  1. Very interested in what you think of Warlock. I saw it in the NYRB catalogue and thought it sounded really good.

  2. I reviewed Wounded Knee HERE if you want to get a taste of what that book will do to your life. I’ve just lent it to a friend and he said that while reading it he “went to bed angry and woke up still angry!” It’s that moving…

  3. I’m curious to hear what you think of Lonesome Dove, Matt. I know that you are not a fan of Westerns, but this is not a stereotypical Western at all. It’s filled with humor and is driven by the wonderful characters created by McMurtry. After reading it, if you like it, take a look at the television presentation of it. That will clinch it for you if you were on the fence about the book.

  4. Boy you are a bad influence on me! Here I am trying to be good and not buy any books till I at least read SOME of the ones cluttering my house! And here you go, with more books!! I’m dying to read A Thousand Spledid Suns…but it may be a while before I can get it at the library!

  5. I want to hear how you like Warlock, too. I once met Oakley Hall a million years ago and he was a nice man! I really like the NYRB Classics at the moment, so I might have to add this to my list. And I’ve run out of shelf space at my house, too. I told my husband we need more bookshelves, and he looked at me like I was crazy. I guess I need to get rid of some books, but I can’t imagine it!

  6. Stefanie – Warlock was the most interesting to me from the NYRB Classics but there are others that are on my radar.

    Arukiyomi – I read your review when you first posted it, it was one of the reasons I chose to buy it now. It pushed me over the edge. I’m pretty sure it’s going to make me angry as well.

    Sam Houston – I remember when Lonesome Dove was on TV, though I never watched. I will certainly be posting my thoughts when I get to reading it. I have it as an alternate on a reading challenge starting this month.

    Stephanie – Yeah, I’ve been spoiling myself lately with the book purchases. But I should be cooling off, at least for a couple months.

    gentle reader – I don’t know anything about Oakley Hall, I had never heard of Warlock until looking at the catalog. And we’ve been thinking about buying more bookshelves too.

  7. I started A Thousand Splendid Suns yesterday and hope to finish it tonight. So far I am really liking it. I’ve heard that tears will be shed by the end…??

    I haven’t read Lonesome Dove, but I did enjoy the movie series a couple of summers ago. Perhaps its time for a revisit…

  8. Trish – If you are reading A Thousand Splendid Suns in two days then it definitely seems you like it. I’ll be checking your review to see if you cried. 😉

  9. Matt – SOBBED. 🙂 I don’t know if you popped by to check out the review, but its up (haven’t finished anything since then…shame on me!). Best

  10. Trish – I’ll have to check out your review. Glad you liked the book, I haven’t read a bad review of it yet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

