Posted by: Matt | July 3, 2007

June Breakdown

Down from May’s huge number, I finished 6 books in June. I read some great books and some not so great books, non-fiction and historical fiction, my first horror and the best novel I’ve read this year. I’ve also been slacking a bit lately, I’ve yet to review I, Claudius, but that should be up in a couple of days. As usual, click on the title to read my review…

  1. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
  2. I Am Legend by Richard Matheson
  3. A Primate’s Memoir by Robert M. Sapolsky
  4. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  5. Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
  6. I, Claudius by Robert Graves

The Book Awards Reading Challenge begins this month, which I’ve been looking forward to starting. I have also received a copy of Messenger of Truth from the publicist for the book’s author, Jacqueline Winspear. I need to get reading it so I can post a review. Another busy reading month ahead…

Responses

  1. I look forward to your views on I, Claudius; I’m about 210 pages into it now, but it had me hooked within the first page! Then again, I studied this era and can’t work out why I hadn’t read this much sooner.

  2. I echo Siew. I loved that book and went on to read the less engaging Claudius the God. If you can pick up the DVDs anywhere, you’ll be in for an amazing treat. Some fabulous character acting.

  3. Siew Cooper – I thought the novel was quite engaging, but while I read I wondered what was fact and what was fictionalized. I know nothing about that time period.

    Arukiyomi – I had heard that it was made into a television series. I might have to take a look. I will eventually read Claudius the God though I’ve heard it has a different feel to it.

  4. I enjoyed your review of Blood Meridian. I have another McCarthy book on my TBR list but may as well have two.

  5. Framed – Glad you enjoyed the review. I plan on reading pretty much everything McCarthy’s written now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

