Posted by: Matt | July 11, 2007

Book Questions

This has been floating around for awhile. It really made me thing about what I’ve read. I’ve answered to the best of my ability, but I’m still not sure I have the right answers…

A book you’ve read more than once: Hmm, haven’t read to many books more than once. But I’ll say The Fellowship of the Ring. The two readings were nearly ten years apart so I had completely forgotten the story.

A book you would take on a desert island
: Maybe Blood Meridian because it’s a book I could read several times and still find something I hadn’t seen before.

A book that made you cry: Books don’t really make me break down and cry, though my eyes do get a little moist sometimes. I just finished a book called Voices from Chernobyl and, as I said in my review, it has some of them most heartbreaking true stories.

A book that scared you
: World War Z. It’s a book about the aftermath of a global war against Zombies. It may sound cheesey but it’s very well thought out. I wasn’t afraid while reading it but walking outside at night after reading some of it I was afraid I’d be attacked by a zombie neighbor.

A book that made you laugh out loud
: The Road, kidding… A Primate’s Memoir. He tells some pretty crazy stories.

A book that disgusted you: Being Dead.  It had some disgusting parts describing decaying bodies but also I thought it was a unlikable in several ways.

A book you loved in preschool: No Idea, I can’t remember that far back.

A book you loved in elementary school: Touchdown for Tommy, I read that book a couple of times. Later it was The Hunt for Red October which was the most advanced book I had read to that point.

A book you loved in middle school
: Red Storm Rising, another Tom Clancy book, he used to be my favorite author. Now I stay away from his books.

A book you loved in high school
: The Stranger. It was a strange and melancholy book, also it was the inspiration for a song by one of my favorite bands, The Cure.

A book you hated in high school
: The Sound and the Fury. I couldn’t stand the way it was written. Didn’t like it at all.

A book you loved in college: Fahrenheit 451. I was going through a rough time in life and it really touched me, probably because it’s fairly dark and depressing.

A book that challenged your identity: That’s a tough one, the closest is probably The Omnivore’s Dilemma.  That challenged my identity as a consumer, what I am eating as opposed to what I should be eating.

A series that you love: Patrick O’Brien’s Aubrey/Maturin books. I love reading about the old navy, the fighting sail ships. His books somehow pull you in and the characters really grow on you.

Your favorite horror book: World War Z, as I mentioned above it’s very well thought out.

Your favorite science fiction book: Dune. Something about this book makes it fantastic. However, I still haven’t gotten to the rest of the series for some reason.

Your favorite fantasy book
: The Lord of the Rings series. I chose all three of them. A great story with a lot of depth, Tolkien created an amazingly detailed world.

Your favorite mystery: I’m reading my first right now, it’s called Messenger of Truth. It being my first I guess it’s my favorite…

Your favorite biography
: I haven’t read many biographies. I read one about Hitler, sounds a bit twisted, but I guess it’s my favorite by default.

Your favorite classic
: Crime and Punishment. I’m trying to read more classics, so this could change, also, what is the definition of a classic?

Your favorite romance book
: Haven’t read any

Your favorite book not on this list
: 1984. This book is amazing, it’s quite depressing and ends with complete hopelessness. That isn’t very common. As you can tell I like depressing books…

What book are you currently reading
: See my list to the right

What book have you been meaning to read: Ender’s Game for about the last 5 years now. Should be getting to it soon.

Responses

  1. Great Answers!! You have some books on your list I don’t know about!!

    I think I’m going to read Crime and Punishment this year. I have never read it before!

  2. I think I’ll finally get around to doing this myself!

    I teach The Stranger every year, and one of the topics suggestions for the individual projects is that Cure song.

  3. That’s an interesting set of questions because your choices really end up telling a lot about you and your personal likes, dislikes, personal philosophy, etc. Nicely done.

  4. Great list. Hope you do make it to Ender’s Game. I haven’t read a lot of sci-fi, but I did read, and enjoy, that one. I guess I should try Dune as well.

  5. Stephanie – I really enjoyed Crime and Punishment but not The Brothers Karamazov. I’m not sure if it was just the mood I was in or if it really was better.

    Dew – What kind of a project do they do with the Cure song? I remember when I read the book, having that revelation that this was what the song was based on, it was kind of weird.

    Sam Houston – Hmm… I wonder what my answers say about me. I hope good things.

    John Mutford – I’m sure I will get Ender’s Game read. I have just recently gotten into sci-fi, though I haven’t read much of it the last couple of months.

  6. I had no idea the Cure had a Stranger inspired song…And I also love Crime and Punishment, such an amazing book. This is a great list and you mentioned a lot of books I’d never heard of.

  7. verbivore – The Cure song is called “Killing an Arab”. Many people thought it was racist, but if you’ve read The Stranger then you know exactly what he’s singing about. The album the song appeared on actually used to have a warning sticker about the song, apparently it was quite controversial when first released.


Leave a Reply

Categories

