Posted by: Matt | July 17, 2007

Reading Some Books

I finished reading The Blind Assassin yesterday. It wasn’t really at all what I was expecting. I also figured out many of the plot points about half way through, I’m not sure if that’s when I was supposed to figure them out or not. I am usually not good at realizing stuff like that so I figure they must have been fairly obvious. The word I come up when thinking about the novel is “tragic”. I had no idea. A review is forthcoming. I like to take a small break after finishing a book before writing a review.

*******

I recently started reading the first book I’ve received from the HarperCollins First Look program. It is a novel called The Sound of Butterflies by first time writer Rachael King. It is about a man in early 20th century England who travels to Brazil to find an unrecorded butterfly rumored to exist. He returns home unable or unwilling to speak, scarred by what he has seen deep in the Amazon rainforest. I’m about a third of the way through and it has been fairly interesting so far. The novel moves back and forth between his time in Brazil and what occurs after he returns home to England. So far the rainforest part of the novel has been much more intriguing.

*******

I have also just today begun reading Snow Crash. I’ve been meaning to read this for some time now. It is considered a classic science fiction novel having practically created the cyber-punk subgenre.

*******

Later tonight I plan on reading the last 8 pages of Suite Francaise for our little family book club. I’m not sure what to think of this book, only that I haven’t been as impressed as most people seem to have been. It’s another one of those books where the style seems a little strange but I’m not sure if it was what the author intended or if something was lost in translation.

Responses

  1. I remember really enjoying The Blind Assassin (though I figured out the twists as well), but it drained me emotionally. I don’t think I read another book for 2 or 3 days!

  2. I loved Blind Assassin, found it very complex, and figured out the twist as well. I think we were supposed to. I’ve been meaning to read Snow Crash for ages. Maybe I will get to it one of these days.

  3. Eva – It is certainly a very emotionally charged book. But also unique in the way it approaches that emotion, not sure how to explain it, I’ll attempt to in my review.

    Stefanie – I think you’re right, we were supposed to figure it out, otherwise I wouldn’t have. 😉 I’m only about 20 pages into Snow Crash so far but it contains an interesting world.


Leave a Reply

Categories

