Posted by: Matt | July 18, 2007

One Book Challenge

The Butter Battle BookSo I have a miniature challenge for everyone. And in this challenge I choose the book. Take it or leave it.

First a bit of an explanation. John at The Book Mine Set is continuing on with his The Great Wednesday Compare series today. In this weeks edition he has Jane Austen, 3-time Champion, up against Dr. Seuss. I was having a difficult time deciding who to vote for, because they are such different authors, when I remembered a book written by Dr. Seuss. The Butter Battle Book. That sealed the deal for me, Dr. Seuss it was.

So here is the challenge: find a copy of The Butter Battle Book and read it. Then, if you don’t mind, let me know what you think. I won’t say anymore, except that I think you will find it to be an interesting allegory.

Responses

  1. I don’t know how I’ve managed this long to have been completely in the dark about this book. You have got my curiousity piqued for sure…to the library! (Cue Batman music)

  2. I think the Harry Potter fuss is less about the writing than about the world. I mean, I think a lot of people are just entranced by the idea of witches and wizards living right next door…and that maybe when you turn 11 you’ll get a letter from Hogwarts!

    I’ve never really read any Dr. Seuss; maybe I’ll have to check this one out.

  3. Should I be embarrassed to admit that I’m almost 40 and have no children but still own this book (and several other Dr. Seuss titles)?

  4. I have a ton of Dr. Seuss at my house, but not this one. Will have to go find a copy and report back!

  5. John Mutford – It doesn’t seem to be talked about very often for some reason. I hope you appreciate it.

    Eva – Never read any Dr. Seuss?! I didn’t know that was possible! 🙂

    marydell – No, I don’t think that’s embarrassing at all. And this particular book definitely has an adult aspect to it.

    gentle reader – I hope you do report back after reading it. Apparently this book hasn’t been that popular…

  6. For some strange reason my local library doesn’t have this book, but my old uni library does, so I may take up your challenge and read this next week.

  7. Siew Cooper – If you get to it, let me know what you think… please. 🙂

  8. I will! You have me intrigued!

  9. Ahh the butter battle book…I’ll have to go re-read it because it has been a while, but my memory of it agrees that it is a very useful allegory for our time (or any time really)

  10. Lizanell – The allegory is probably technically mostly for the Cold War but can definitely be applied to most any world conflict currently happening.


Leave a Reply

Categories

