Posted by: Matt | August 6, 2007

A Few New Books

It’s been awhile, I’ve slowed down some. But I received some books I ordered from Amazon over the weekend. They are having a “buy 2, get 1 free” sale on Random House books and my wife let me use the $5 off coupon she got for pre-ordering the new Harry Potter book. Couldn’t pass on those deals. I even bought a book that I hadn’t even heard of before, I don’t remember the last time I made a book purchase that spontaneous. Without further ado, here they are:

A Short History of Nearly Everything

A Short History of Nearly Everthing by Bill Bryson – I’ve been wanting to read this for some time now. It’s gotten very good reviews and sounds fascinating.

 

Saturday

 

Saturday by Ian McEwan – I enjoyed Atonement so much I decided I needed to read another McEwan novel.

Under the Black Flag

 

Under the Black Flag: The Romance and Reality of Life Among the Pirates by David Cordingly – What can I say? I love pirates! And the cover is awesome. I couldn’t resist. This was my spontaneous purchase, spontaneous like a pirate… or something.

Responses

  1. My husband has been listening to the Bill Bryson book and is really enjoying it. I’m going to come back and read your review of Atonement – I have about 40 pages left.

  2. Isn’t Atonement great? A real accomplishment, I think. I had read most of the rest of his and was almost afraid to read anything else fearing nothing else would be as good! That’s kind of what happened to me with DeLillo and Underworld too. I’ll be curious to hear your reaction to Saturday as well as to the Phillip K. Dick.

  3. tara – I couldn’t stop reading Atonement once I had about 50 pages left. I’ll be looking for your thoughts on it.

    Ted – I have been thinking about reading Underworld but I think the next DeLillo book I read will be Libra. I’ll probably eventually get around to Underworld though.

  4. I can’t wait to hear about the pirate book—it looks like quite the interesting read!

  5. Everyone had so many good things to say about the Bryson but for some reason I couldn’t get into it. Ended up bartering it at used store. Still like to read reviews on it though. 🙂

  6. imani – I can see this book being one that people can’t get into, for some reason I tend to enjoy those types of books. Not sure why.


Leave a Reply

Categories

