Posted by: Matt | August 14, 2007

People Still Read

I’ve been meaning to write a short post about a blog I’ve been visiting lately and I’m finally getting around to it.  A woman named Sonya Worthy has a blog in which she posts pictures of people reading and their books.  This site is called People Reading.  She lives in San Francisco so of course this is where she takes her pictures.  But the site I really wanted to direct you to is called Dogeared.

For Dogeared, Sonya is on a road trip to cities across the country taking pictures of readers.  She rides Greyhound to cities all over the U.S. speaking to people she finds reading.  It’s a wonderful idea and I wonder how she found the time and money to do it.  It’s a great time visiting the site every few days to see where she has been and what people are reading (a lot of Harry Potter, no surprise!).  So head on over there and see what she’s been up to.

Responses

  1. This looks like a really fun site. Thanks for posting about it!

  2. […] Efron Contact the Webmaster Link to Article harry potter People Still Read » Posted at A Variety Of Words on Tuesday, August […]

  3. cards – another kind of reading? Would you check my Rainring cards out and see what you think?
    Cheers

  4. Very cool! That’s such a neat project.

  5. Marg – I thought people would find it fun, I wish I had gotten to it sooner.

    Heather – It is neat, I don’t think I could ever do it. I wouldn’t have the time to do the traveling and I have a hard time approaching strangers.

  6. Hey Matt! Great idea! If I had the money, I’d be doing some kind of “Book Tour” myself!

    I just got back from a long vacation a couple of days ago, and I’m just now trying to get caught up on all my favorite blogs! First of all, Congrats! on the Curled Up Reviews! I knew you would get in! I was one of those people that probably spoke too highly of The Book Thief. One of my very favorites!

    Glad to be back and reading your blog again!

  7. That’s a great idea for a blog. Thanks for posting the link, Matt!

  8. Those were really fun blogs; thanks for posting about them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

