Posted by: Matt | August 16, 2007

A Few Thoughts on Books and Authors

Cormac McCarthyThe Summer reading program at my local library is coming to a close soon. My wife and I went in last night to pick up our free books which we earned for reading 8 books from June to August. The selection wasn’t very large but we both managed to find a book to take home. I ended up choosing a hardcover copy of The Road even though I have read it. There wasn’t much else that appealed to me. Lisey’s Story by Stephen King was available but I haven’t had much luck with his books so I passed on it. McCarthy is quickly becoming my favorite author so I decided I might as well add to my collection by taking The Road. Maybe someone in my family will want to borrow it sometime and maybe someday I’ll go back to read it again.

*******

Stephenie MeyerMy wife also bought Twilight by Stephenie Meyer last night. It’s actually the third copy she has purchased, although this time in hardcover to match the other books in the series she owns. The first was for herself but since she finished it I don’t think it has spent more than a couple of days in our home. She has been lending it to anyone who is interested. The second was for her niece and the third is once more for her so that she can read it again before moving on to the second and third books in the series. I’m really amazed at how the series has taken off. In fact, I read that the third book, Eclipse, knocked the new Harry Potter out of the top spot on the bestseller list and the first book has risen back into the top ten. It is also sold out around here; when I went to Barnes & Noble last night Eclipse was still not available. The first run printing of the book was 1 million, which is small compared to Deathly Hallows, but still very impressive. I continue to be amazed at how popular these Young Adult books become. It also makes me a little jealous seeing these people finding success in writing seemingly overnight. But still, I can’t help but be a bit proud of Stephenie Meyer as we graduated from the same university.

Responses

  1. Everyone is talking about Stephanie Meyer lately!

    McCarthy lives in my town, and I know where he hangs out, literally every day. I have seriously considered finding him and asking if I can ask him a few questions for my blog and maybe take a photo, but I’ve been too shy. And I think that since he won the Pulitzer he’s probably getting more attention than he’s really comfortable with, and I don’t want to add to that. And what if he said no? I know, I know, what if he said yes? Maybe I’ll work up the courage eventually.

  2. […] Efron Contact the Webmaster Link to Article harry potter A Few Thoughts on Books and Authors » Posted at A Variety Of Words on […]

  3. One of these days soon, I’m going to read Twilight! I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet. I like that it made such an impression on your wife, though. That says a lot about a book when someone recommends it so highly!

  4. Dewey – Wow. I don’t think I would have the guts to approach him either. He seems like a nice guy but you’re right, I don’t think he likes a lot of attention. If you ever do approach you definitely need to write about what happens.

    Stephanie – Yeah, my wife really enjoyed the first book and so has everyone she has lent it to. Now she’s saying she needs to send a copy to a friend living in Texas!

  5. Maybe I’ll get lucky and just happen to run into him!

  6. New to your blog and loving it.

    I’ve read all three Stephenie Meyer books and I can’t say enough wonderful things about them.
    I’ve gotten everyone here at work (including their kids) hooked and we pass them around and discuss them endlessly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

