Posted by: Matt | August 20, 2007

Questions for Book Bloggers

This is another one of those things going around on the blogs right now. I’ve enjoyed reading others responses and it looked like fun so I’ve decided to participate. I’ve seen it on quite a few blogs but the first one I noticed it on was the hidden side of a leaf.

What are you reading right now? I am reading One Hundred Years of Solitude and an ARC of The Spanish Bow by Andromeda Romano-Lax. You can also check out what I’m reading to the right over there ——->.

Do you have any idea what you’ll read when you’re done with that? I will probably start on Crashing Through by Robert Kurson next. And then maybe possibly No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy.

What magazines do you have in your bathroom right now? We don’t keep magazines in the bathroom. I’ve never really been into that.

What’s the worst thing you were ever forced to read? By forced I’m thinking assigned to read in school. The worst is probably The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner. I just remember really disliking that book and the way it was written.

What’s the one book you always recommend to just about everyone? That would probably be Fahrenheit 451. It’s such a great book, so go read it!

Admit it, the librarians at your library know you on a first name basis, don’t they? Actually they don’t. I visit fairly often but I almost always use the self checkout station, unless I have to pay a fine…

Is there a book you absolutely love, but for some reason, people never think it sounds interesting, or maybe they read it and don’t like it at all? Hmm, that’s a tough one. I didn’t love it, but a lot of people I know hate Heart of Darkness and I thought it was quite good. Also maybe Snow Crash, which a lot of people won’t read because it’s science fiction.

Do you read books while you eat? While you bathe? While you watch movies or TV? While you listen to music? While you’re on the computer? While you’re having sex? While you’re driving? I do read books while I eat, usually during my lunch break at work. And I occasionally read while listening to music, but that’s only on the train ride home. And I guess sometimes I read books when I’m on the computer meaning e-books. People that read while driving scare the crap out of me.

When you were little, did other children tease you about your reading habits? Not really. I think some people thought it was weird that I was reading Tom Clancy novels in elementary school, but I don’t remember being teased exactly. Also, I didn’t become an addict until just this year.

What’s the last thing you stayed up half the night reading because it was so good you couldn’t put it down? I can’t even remember. Nothing in that last few years. Especially now that I have a daughter and work full time. I have to be able to stay awake during the day. I did stay up a little later than usual a couple weeks ago because of Snow Crash.

Responses

  1. Your library has a self-checkout station? Wow, I’ve never seen one of those, but now that you mention it, I bet that really takes off and becomes popular.

  2. That’s such a fun list!! And yes, my librarians know me by name!! Mostly because I request so many books from ILL. Ours is a small branch library! I’ll walk in and they will be like, Do we have a book for you??

  3. Dewey – Not ever branch in our county library system has the self check-out but the one I normally go to does. It’s quite handy.

    Stephanie – Our library system is too automated for me to have much chance of getting to know the librarians. And I’m the type that will use all of that technology instead of face-to-face interaction.

  4. I enjoy reading your answers a lot Matt. Thanks for sharing. I am not very keen on William Faulkner either, have tried a few of his books but unfortunately they don’t have the staying power in me.

  5. Matt – Oh no, another Matt! 🙂 Glad you liked it, it’s been fun reading all of these posts on different blogs. I have only read that one Faulkner book but I have no desire to read any of his others after that one.

  6. I don’t blame you (about not reading Faulkner) Matt. I have always wanted to read more classics and make allowance for at least one a month. But after a few futile attempts with Faulkner, I had to call it a quit. I find it more enjoyable to read James Joyce.

  7. People that read while driving also scare me to death and I try not to stare at them too pointedly while I edge past them afraid they’re going to veer into my lane at any moment.

    Great answers, by the way…and I’m wondering if I should ever try to read any Sci Fi again with Snow Crash…hmm.

  8. verbivore – I take it you’re not much of a sci-fi fan. I didn’t really read much sci-fi until last year. I used to be more into fantasy and although I still enjoy it I haven’t read it much recently. Snow Crash is very good, but if you dislike sci-fi I don’t know if it would be a good choice.

  9. I used to really like Fantasy when I was much younger – Marion Zimmer Bradley style and I like classic Sci-Fi (I think!) so I’m willing to give it a try – besides I like creative ideas and sci-fi is a great place to explore that.

  10. verbivore – Snow Crash definitely has some creative ideas, although some of them don’t sound creative now because they’ve already turned into reality to some degree.


Leave a Reply

Categories

