Posted by: Matt | August 21, 2007

Stardust and Curled Up

Stardust PosterMy wife and I saw Stardust over the weekend. I had just finished listening to it on CD and thought it would be a fun movie. Of course it was much different than the book. The biggest difference I noticed was that it was much more dramatic. I mentioned in my post on the audiobook that it never seemed very dangerous. Well the movie definitely upped the drama. This actually made me appreciate the book more. I think that I have been conditioned to think that books and movies have to be almost over-dramatic to be interesting. But I’m starting to realize that’s not necessarily the case. So bravo to Neil Gaiman for not making the book melodramatic. I also thought the pacing in the first half of the movie was bad. It was much too quick, rapidly switching from one scene to the next. The actors didn’t have a chance to get into a rhythm and everything felt rushed. The second half of the movie did a much better job of it. Overall I thought the movie was pretty good and the rest of the audience, my wife included, really enjoyed it.

*******

I also wanted to let you know that my review of Soon I Will Be Invincible is now available over at curledup.com. I really enjoyed the book and recommend it. If you’d like to read my full review head on over there.

*******

One more thing. I am thinking about changing the look of my blog again. I know I changed not too long ago, and I don’t intend for this to be a regularly occurring thing but I finally noticed something I really don’t like about this theme: it doesn’t have links or tabs for other pages. I would really like to have that option but I will have to make another switch. So be ready for a new look and I promise I’ll stick with the new one.

Responses

  1. It seems like movies are always overdramatized, compared to the books! I used to hate seeing movies of books I loved, because I never liked what they did with it. I had to teach myself to think of the movie as just another version, another way of seeing the story, so that I can think of it apart…

  2. Cere – I’ve gotten pretty good at what you’re saying. Many of the movies I’ve seen recently that were based on books I’ve read I enjoyed along with the books. Either it’s me or they’ve gotten better at adapting them…

  3. I’m glad you enjoyed Soon I Will Be Invincible. I felt the same way – it was entertaining but at times, it was easy to get distracted by certain scenes which you know could have been so much better. I loved Dr. Impossible though and rooted for him all the way even though he was the bad guy.

  4. J.S. Peyton – Dr. Impossible was probably the best character in the book. I couldn’t really get behind Fatale for some reason. I think Dr. Impossible showed the most personality.


Leave a Reply

Categories

