Posted by: Matt | August 27, 2007

Reading The Spanish Bow

I have been reading an ARC by first time novelist Andromeda Romano-Lax entitled The Spanish Bow. When I first received it I had no idea what to expect. Reading the synopsis did not seem to help me grasp what the story was about. I knew only that it concerned music and politics and took place early in the 20th century. Well, I am over half way through it now and I must say I am pleasantly surprised. I am enjoying it much more than I had predicted I would.cello

The novel is about a Spanish boy who grows up longing for the chance to learn to play the cello. He finally has an opportunity and grows into a renowned cellist. It also concerns his and Europe’s dealings with a troubled political landscape.

One reason I think that I have enjoyed the book so far is that I once played the cello. I have not done so for many years now but earlier in my life I played for six years. I have remembered my time with the instrument enough to identify with the central character. It has also led me to think about whether I should have kept playing instead of giving it up.

I should finish the novel this week and will likely post my final thoughts early next week.

Responses

  1. I have a copy of this one too! I hope to get to it soon.

    I like the new look!

  2. Sounds entertaining and enlightening!

    And yes, you should have kept playing the cello. But then again, I should have kept playing the piano. Live and learn.

  3. Carrie K – My wife plays the piano, and we managed to snag her parents old piano so now she can play whenever she has time. She also used to play the violin and would like to start playing again. I don’t suppose I’ll ever go back to the cello though.

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your blog. You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write
    some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

  5. A powerful share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing a little evaluation on
    this. And he in

    reality bought me breakfast as a result of I

    found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx
    for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for

    spending the time to discuss this, I really feel strongly
    about it and love reading more on this topic. If attainable, as you
    change into experience, would you thoughts updating
    your blog with more

    details? It’s extremely helpful for me. Huge thumb up for this

    blog publish!

  6. Hiya, I’m really glad I have found this information. Today bloggers publish only

    about gossips and net and this is really irritating. A good site with exciting content, this is what I need. Thank you for

    keeping this web site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters?

    Can’t

    find it.

  7. Hello are using WordPress for your site
    platform? I’m new to the

    blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you need any html coding

    expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  8. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours lately, but I by no means found
    any interesting article like yours. It’s beautiful value sufficient for me.
    In my

    opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content as you probably
    did, the net will probably be much more helpful
    than ever before.

  9. Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my web site
    thus i

    came to “return the desire”.I’m attempting to to find things to improve my web site!I assume its

    good enough to use a few of your concepts!!

  10. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a

    team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog

    provided us useful information to work on. You have done a
    outstanding job!

  11. Great – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your site.
    I had no trouble

    navigating through all the tabs as well as related info ended up being truly easy
    to do

    to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least.
    Reasonably unusual. Is

    likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, website theme .
    a tones way for

    your customer to communicate. Excellent task.
    .

  12. Hey this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.

    I’m starting a blog soon but have

    no coding know-how so I wanted to get guidance from someone with

    experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!


Leave a Reply

Categories

