Posted by: Matt | August 29, 2007

Listening to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

This book is a classic and I know there are many people who are fanatical about it so I had to read it… eh… listen to it.  I knew it would be awhile before I got around to actually reading it so I decided to get the audiobook from the library.  It was a fairly enjoyable listen.

Douglas Adams does a pretty good job of reading his book, although sometimes you could hear the breathing and quiet squeaks that come with reading out loud.  It was kind of strange and distracting as those things are not usually audible in audiobooks.  I’m not sure if he was too close to the microphone or if the sensitivity was too high or what.

The book was also not as good or as funny as I had expected, particularly the funny.  I briefly chuckled maybe twice, but it I suppose it was decently clever.  Also, the story doesn’t seem to have any destination.  This might be because it’s part of a series.  The following is probably a spoiler so you might not want to continue.  The Earth is destroyed, the main character is rescued from the planet with the help of his alien friend.  They escape some bad alien dudes, are rescued again by another spaceship, find a long lost planet and then escape some bad guys again.  But the characters never really accomplish anything.  When it ended I was left waiting for another chapter or two.  I guess I just didn’t get it…

Responses

  1. Hmm it sounds a bit flat. The series was terrific..if you get a chance to see it, you’d probably like it better.
    One the rare times when a show was better than the book!

  2. Sorry you didn’t like the book all that much. I love the whole series. Makes me laugh out loud and chuckle and smile. I think Adams is an either/or author. You either like or you don’t, there isn’t much of an in between.

  3. merrimerri – I’m assuming you don’t mean the movie that was made a couple of years ago…

    Stefanie – I don’t know if I would have found it funnier if I had read it instead of listening to it but I did expect to laugh a bit more. I think there maybe was a reason it took so long for me to get around to this book. I wouldn’t say I disliked the book, but I am definitely not one of the hardcore fans.

  4. Matt. it was a weekly series …I think done by the BBC..

  5. I’ve never read any of the books or watched the series (I didn’t know it was a series) but I did see the movie, with the vague idea that I might even read the book afterwards. But watching the movie, I felt like you – I didn’t find it as funny as I thought I would. I made it about half-way through the movie until I gave up. I never read the book either. I suspect that Stephanie is right, and the author is an either/or kind of writer.


Leave a Reply

Categories

