Posted by: Matt | August 30, 2007

Booking Through Thursday – Statistics

Booking Through Thursday

This is my first time participating in Booking Through Thursday.  I have decided to participate today as I am at a loss as to what else to post about.  It also sounded like it could be kind of interesting.

There was a widely bruited-about statistic reported last week, stating that 1 in 4 Americans did not read a single book last year. Clearly, we don’t fall into that category, but . . . how many of our friends do? Do you have friends/family who read as much as you do? Or are you the only person you know who has a serious reading habit?

I think at this point I probably read more books than anyone I know, the only person that might challenge that is my mom.  I can remember her reading a lot when growing up.  She has also worked for her local library system for the past 19 years so it isn’t surprising how much she reads.  In fact, she has shelves full of library books (after all there are no late fines for employees!).  Sometimes she will get part way through a book before realizing she’s already read it.  My mom also participates in a book club and has for a few years now.

Although no one else in my family reads as much as my mom and I they do always seem to have a book that they are plowing through.  So my family is quite literate, but not addicted like me.  My wife wishes she could read more often but she doesn’t have the luxury of having a lunch break like me as we have a 1 year old daughter to look after.  Although the older she gets the more independent she can be leaving my wife more time to read.

It’s a little different story with my friends.  One of them you may be somewhat familiar with as he has been leaving comments here.  He tends to read quite a bit as he has a long commute to work which he can use reading.  As for my other friends, they don’t seem to be too much into reading.  At least not enough so that we ever discuss books, well, maybe the occasional graphic novel.

For the most part I don’t worry about how much people I know read.  But that might be because most people I know do read, just not as much as me.  However, I am focused on turning my daughter into an avid reader.  We’ve already started on her by reading to her every night before she goes to bed.  It seems to be catching on with her already as she likes to go into her room and spend time flipping through her board books.  And a photo of her “reading” has already been featured on a flier at my mom’s library system.

Responses

  1. No late fines for library employees? That is GREAT! I begin to think that I MUST try to get a library job!
    That is wonderful that you are raising a reader..
    Yes it must be hard for Moms to find the time..

  2. merrimerri – Growing up we always had our mom check out our books so we wouldn’t have to worry about the late fines. I must confess however that it can easily be abused.

  3. I see you’ve redecorated!

    Reading before bed turned my kids into huge readers, so I hope it has the same effect on your daughter.

  4. Dew – I have redecorated, seems to be working out. I really hope it works for my daughter as well.

  5. It always seems odd to me when I find people that don’t read, but they’re out there.

    Librarians don’t pay fines? DANG! I knew I should’ve gone into that profession.

    Have a great vacation! Take a ferry out to Victoria if you get a chance.

  6. Carrie K – I will definitely enjoy the vacation. I don’t think a trip to Victoria is in the cards this time but I have been there before and it is a beautiful city.

  7. I think I read more books than most of the people I know, except for a couple regulars at the cafe I go to every morning.

    Most of my friends read quite a bit although they don’t engage in reading as much as I do. Some of them take book recommendations from me so at least they’re doing some reading.

    I worry about the young adults who might have devoted more time to internet, video games and hanging out at the mall.

  8. I have quite a few readers in my life too. Until I really started thinking about the answer to this question, I would have said I read more than anyone I know, but that’s not true. I am just more book crazed than anyone I know. 🙂

  9. I kind of think a better question to be asking is not, “How much are people around you reading,” but, “Why have we seen an increase in demand for literature?” The answers are pretty obvious – TV, movies, video games, etc. but it’s sad to me to see so much great reading material passing by unnoticed. As much as I dislike Oprah’s show, I’m actually kind of happy that she’s getting people back into reading.
    I admit that there was a time where I was barely reading anything at all, but once I started getting some decent recommendations from friends, it really changed my outlook on books. Having someone to push you over the threshold, so to speak, really helps.

  10. Doh! That second question should be, “Why haveN’T we seen an increase…” My bad. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

