Posted by: Matt | September 13, 2007

Vacation Purchases

I did quite a bit of book shopping while on vacation in Seattle last week.  Unfortunately I won’t be able to post a picture of the stack of books I bought as I don’t have them right now.  We left them with my parents to ship to us because if we had carried them in our suitcase we would have exceeded the weight limit.  But I can list them here, so I will.

At Half Price Books I could only find one book that I felt was a good deal and that was:

I had some money left to spend after only purchasing that one book so I made a trip to Barnes & Noble where I picked up:

After my trip to Barnes & Noble my mom told me about a independent bookstore in Tacoma for which she had a gift certificate she would give me.  So of course I had to go there as well.  The book store is called King’s Books.  And there I purchased used copies of:

I also borrowed some books from my younger sister:

My bookshelf is feeling the strain, or will be shortly when these arrive.

Responses

  1. What do you do with books when you’re finished with them? I’m still up in the air in regards to this. I have so far kept a small collection of my favorite books, but the others I sell to used book stores. Recently I have been thinking of donating them to Japanese libraries, but wanted to hear what you thought.
    Is it better to make money back or donate to others for the enjoyment of reading?

  2. Kevin – I think it’s totally up to you. I know some people donate to libraries which is definitely a worthy cause. But I don’t think it’s unfair to get money back for them either. A lot of people have been doing something called BookMooch, which is basically an online book trading thing. Probably not available in Japan though… I am thinking about going that route or selling them online.

  3. He he. Thanks for the ideas. I personally don’t like selling online because I’m lazy and don’t feel like going to the post office, packing, writing an address, etc.
    I’m sort of leaning toward the library since there are so few English language books available here. The English section usually consists of pulp fiction and the random part 2 or 3 of a 5-part series. There’s always a lot of Star Wars for some reason. 🙂

  4. What a wonderfully varied stack of books! I’m looking forward to reading Half of a Yellow Sun so I’ll look for your thoughts as well. I’ve also heard great things about Russo’s Straight Man. I read Empire Falls and really liked it, so have been looking for another Russo.

    Also – just on your comment about Bookmooch above. I live in Switzerland and could not live without bookmooch so I know it exists all over the world. Its a bit more expensive but there are plenty of people who mooch internationally and the deal is kindof good – costs me two points to mooch a book, but if someone mooches from me I get three. I always have more points 🙂

  5. Got some good books there! The Count of Monte Cristo is on my list of all-time favorites! I can not imagine reading it with so much of it cut out! Sounds blasphemous to me!

    I’m anxious to hear what you have to say about Half a Yellow Sun. I’ve heard really good things about that one!

  6. Kevin – I don’t really like selling online either but sometimes it’s the best way to get the most money for an item.

    Verbivore – For some reason I never connected the author of Straight Man with the author of Empire Falls, but you’re right, it’s the same person! And thanks for the information about Bookmooch, that’s cool.

    Stephanie – It was the long version of The Count of Monte Cristo that I never knew existed. I’m not sure I could read all those pages. I actually bought it for my wife who was the one that informed that there were two version, she requested the abridged one.

  7. Matt, everytime I visit here your blog just seems to look better and better!

    Yeah, books can be really weighty. The last time I was in India (nearly a year ago) I bought a whole lot of books but was barely able to carry back 2-3 of them…I have no clue how I am going to bring the rest of them here (Canada) for weight is always going to be a problem.

    Coming to the books, you’ve got a very diverse selection. “Half of A Yellow Sun”, “Invisible Man” and Oryx and Crake”, I am familiar with and they are all wonderful reads…you’re in for a treat, enjoy!

  8. Lotus Reads – Well thanks!

    Those three books are some that I’m looking forward to the most, I’ve heard a lot of good stuff about them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

