Posted by: Matt | September 18, 2007

I’ve Fallen Off the Wagon

I have been reading Pride and Prejudice through DailyLit. Each day they email you a small part of a book. I am about half way through it. The thing is I’ve now fallen desperately behind. It started when I went on vacation. I didn’t read a single passage for a week. Then I came back to work last week and didn’t catch up, all the while new sections were arriving each day. Now I have 12 of these emails sitting in my inbox and I can’t bring myself to start the long climb back.

I’m in free fall.

I need an intervention.

Responses

  1. Wellllll. You could just read the book. Check it out from the library maybe?

  2. I agree with Carrie. In fact, I prefer a hardcopy and prefer turning the actual pages. That’s why the electronic book does not appeal to me. šŸ™‚

  3. I’m currently reading that same book (yes, book, not email installments). However you get through it, in whatever format, I hope you do. Would be nice to hear what your thinking about it, to compare.

  4. I did that once, signed up for a book to be sent in instalments…at first it WAS great but I think I fell behind too…lol
    A real book is better, don’t you think?

  5. Sounds like an idea that is going to fizzle out once the novelty wears off, Matt. I wonder how many people have read TWO books that way.

  6. I know how you feel; since going on holidays myself and getting back a few weeks ago, I am seriously behind on Ulysses and Daniel Deronda, although I had been regularly plugging away previously. I think I will take up the suggestion and just check them out of a library.

  7. Carrie K – No need to check it out from the library, I merely need to walk over to my wife’s bedside table!

    Matt – I also prefer a hard copy to electronic, my reasoning for reading the book this way is I thought I’d never read it otherwise.

    jmutford – I will attempt to get through it somehow, one of these days I’ll get motivated.

    merrimerri – Yeah, a real book is definitely better, but as I mentioned to Matt this was the only way I figured I would ever get around to reading this particular novel.

    Sam Houston – I’ve seen quite a few people read a book using DailyLit but now that I think about it I’m not sure how many I’ve seen go on to a second…

    Siew – As I mentioned above my wife has a copy I can pick up if I really want to, the problem is I don’t know that I want to…

  8. That’s funny, I tried that with the Shakespeare sonnets thinking, well they’re only 14 line poems for heaven sakes you can manage that!

    I’ve unsubscribed now as the pile of unread e-mails became annoying. Also they got a lot of the organisation wrong and I sent irritated (unanswered) e-mails with the correct sonnet for the number they were claiming.

  9. Oh no! I just signe up for Euripides’ Trojan Women. All the commnets here now have me expecting I won’t be keeping up with it for very long. Don’t give up on P&P though. If the emails are daunting, the book is the way to go.

  10. I tried reading it again this year and really struggled.

  11. imani – I haven’t had a problem with the organization of the emails, just helplessly behind.

    Stefanie – I wouldn’t worry too much unless you have some sort of break that throws you off. You can actually temporarily stop the emails, I just forgot to do so.

    Kelly – When you say you tried reading it again do you mean as a re-read or you tried again to complete it for the first time?

  12. If it makes you feel any better, I read P&P in high school and absolutely loathed it. I did read it eons later and appreciated it much more that time around.

    Ebooks and audiobooks. I don’t see anything inherently wrong with either, but I just don’t “read” my books that way. I could be reading my book online right now…..but I’m cruising blogs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

