Posted by: Matt | September 19, 2007

Three Novels, Three New Films

No Country for Old MenI started reading Cormac McCarthy’s No Country for Old Men today and am so far enjoying it immensely. Some people are McCarthy fans and some aren’t, obviously I am. This is the third book of his that I will have read this year. He has rapidly become one of my favorite authors. It is another extremely violent tale, you normally don’t find a story like this written so well. As most of you probably already know it will be released as a Coen Brothers directed movie in November.

*******

The Golden CompassI have also begun reading The Golden Compass this week, which is also being released as a movie this December. It seems fairly complex for a Young Adult book, much more so than the Harry Potter novels. I’m almost a third of the way into it but am just now starting to get somewhat of a grasp on the story. Of course there are two more books in the series to flesh things out so I’m not surprised that I haven’t yet reached the meat of the story. I am starting to get caught up in it now that things are starting to move. I feel like my reading of these books has been a long time coming. I first heard about them a few years ago and thought I might like to read them but then forgot about them until I heard about the movie. I’m hoping the movie will be well reviewed.

*******

AtonementAtonement by Ian McEwan has also been adapted and is receiving rave reviews. It has so far seen release in the UK but won’t reach the U.S. until December where it will be limited. If you enjoyed the book you might want to check this one out. Unfortunately, only Keira Knightley’s skeleton was present for the filming of her role, I suppose the rest of her was busy with other films.

Responses

  1. Did you hear that The Road is going to be made into a movie as well?

  2. I’m interested to see at least the first Golden Compass movie. New Line is playing it up as the next Lord of the Rings, but not knowing anything about the story it’s hard to say. Let me know if I should read this one Matt. You know I’m a sucker for fiction.

    I personally believe that in order for a book to become a good movie, the book either has to be a novella or a short story. Books tend to be about details whereas movies are mostly about composition – saying more by clever editing. I was trying to think of some good book to movie examples but it’s actually pretty hard.

    Stephen King has literally been the most successful and also the biggest failure when it comes to movies. The Green Mile and Shawshank Redemption are two wonderful examples of his books to movies but on the other hand you also have stuff like The Lawnmower Man (which King eventually took his name off of) and Silver Bullet.

    The Harry Potter movies have all been fairly entertaining, but I almost consider them to be visual Cliff Notes because they only seem capable of summarizing the plot. Prince Caspian is also coming to theaters fairly soon so I guess Hollywood is going to continue feeding us recycled versions of classics.

  3. Ok…now that I’ve cleaned up the coffee I spit all over my keyboard from reading the Keira Knightly comment…..

    I haven’t read No Country for Old Men, but the trailers for the movie looks like a must-see, that’s for sure! Besides, I’m a big fan of the Coen brothers!

  4. You should have done McCarthy for the author challenge. I have All the Pretty Horses lined up for my second McCarthy read. I’ll have to see how I do with the violence…

    I read The Golden Compass earlier this year as well and I really liked it. There is a great article on Pullman from a New Yorker last year that says a lot about his aesthetic for children – I really liked it.

  5. jmutford – I think I did hear something about that but thanks for the reminder and the article link.

    Kevin – I’ll be sure to let you know about The Golden Compass. And you’re definitely correct about Stephen King’s movie adaptations, there have been very good ones and incredibly terrible ones. And I’ve actually enjoyed the Harry Potter books whereas I haven’t particularly liked the books so I think they’ve done a pretty good job.

    Stephanie – The trailer for No Country for Old Men looks very good and the bad guy is pretty creepy looking.

    verbivore – I considered doing McCarthy for the author challenge but decided against it since I had already read 2 of his books and I kind of want to take my time on the rest, savor them a little. I’m very interested to see how the His Dark Materials series turns out because a lot has been made of its message about religion and I know Pullman is an atheist.

  6. Ha! Your comment about Keira Knightly made me laugh out loud.

  7. So glad to see/hear you’re reading NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN. It is wonderful isn’t it? I’m waiting with baited breath for the film.

    I was finally able to Bookmooch THE GOLDEN COMPASS a few days ago. I can’t wait to start digging into it as soon as it arrives, and after I’ve cleaned up my currently reading list a bit. I don’t usually do too well with fantasy books, but I’m willing to give this one a shot since I’ve heard so much about it (and since I was supposed to have read this months ago for my New Notions 5 reading challenge.)

  8. Stefanie – Glad you liked, I wasn’t sure if people would get it…

    J.S. Peyton – No Country for Old Men is very good, I am really enjoying it so far and looking forward to finding out how it all ends.


Leave a Reply

Categories

