Posted by: Matt | September 27, 2007

A Fantastic Show

The month of September is packed with rock concerts here in Salt Lake.  There were four just in this month that I wanted to attend.  However, two of them (The Cure and White Stripes) canceled their tours.  I had really been looking forward to seeing the White Stripes so I was disappointed.  And the dates for the other two have likely slipped away.  But about a week and a half ago I accidentally discovered that a band I had really been wanting to see live would be playing here, Arcade Fire.

The show was last night and it was fantastic.  They played with a lot of energy and the concert got better and better as the night went on.  They are also the largest band I have ever seen play, 10 people up on stage playing everything from guitars to an organ to french horns.  The band members are constantly rotating on the instruments as well which is something I have never seen before.

I was pretty skeptical that Arcade Fire would ever come to Utah so it was definitely surprising to see them.  Glad I went, and if you aren’t familiar with the band you should be.

This photo is not from the show I attended but the stage setup was almost identical.

Arcade Fire

Responses

  1. That sounds like fun!! I love a good concert! I had tickets to the White Stripes show at the Aragon Ballroom in Chicago, but they called there as well. The whole tour. I’m utterly depressed. I’m a huge White Stripes fan!! My husband in the BIG Cure fan, but I’m sure we would have gone to see them too!! Pictures of You however, is one of my favorite songs!

  2. Broken Social Scene crams even more people on stage. We’re big on gigantic bands up here.

  3. Stephanie – I believe the Cure tour has actually been postponed so they will probably be coming to your area in May or around that time, might want to take a look.

    John – I think you are more successful at getting bands up there than they are here in Salt Lake! I didn’t realize that Broken Social Scene had so many band members, must be quite the show.


Leave a Reply

Categories

