Posted by: Matt | September 27, 2007

Darkmans is coming to America

I’ve been reading a lot about Darkmans lately, the Nicola Barker book which has been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize.  It sounds like people have really been enjoying it, so much so that I decided to add it to my TBR list.  Unfortunately, it is not yet available in the U.S.  In fact, you can’t even find it on Amazon.com, although you can find it on Amazon’s UK site.  I decided to do a little investigating to find out if Darkmans will see a U.S. release.  And didn’t take long for me to find this short article (via Magers and Quinn Booksellers blog) on Publisher’s Weekly mentioning that it will be published in January.  So for all of you U.S. readers who have been on the lookout for this book and don’t want to pay to have it shipped over from the U.K.,  the wait won’t be too much longer.

Responses

  1. I didn’t know Magers and Quinn had a blog – I love that shop! Thanks for the info.

  2. Thanks! I was about to beg my mother-in-law (who lives in the UK) to mail it to me!

  3. Thanks, Matt. I was wondering the same thing after looking around for it. Thanks for doing my homework for me.

  4. tara – You’re welcome, though I had no idea the place even existed.

    Dew – I suppose you still could, you’d probably get it a lot sooner!

    Ted – I figured that there would be some people wanting to pick it up. I originally looked just for my own information but then realized I really should post about it.

  5. This is the one book on the short-list that looks incredibly intriguing to me. My luck with Bookers hasn’t been all that great. The ones I’ve read I’ve been underwhelmed by. This one, I’m looking forward to!

  6. I feel the same way about Bookers as Stephanie does. But I’m on the look out for Darkmans, since local bookstores have posted announcement for pre-order.

  7. Good to know it’s coming to the US–I’ve been hearing a lot about this one, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

