Posted by: Matt | October 8, 2007

BAFAB and Bookmooch

Purchased a new book on Friday.  I couldn’t find it anywhere so I had to have Borders special order it for me, that’s the first time I’ve done it.  I could have ordered it from Amazon but it would have been more expensive with the shipping because I always use a coupon when I buy from Borders.  The book I purchased is a sci-fi book called River of Gods, it was written by Ian McDonald.  It has gotten rave reviews, I am excited to get into it.

I also bought a book for my wife for Buy a Friend a Book week.  It was a surprise for her, it’s always nice to surprise my wife with something.  It was also a book she had never heard of but came highly recommended from people who love the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer and my wife loves those books.  It is called A Great and Terrible Beauty and was written by Libba Bray.  So I’m hoping she enjoys it.  It was just as fun buying a book for her as it is buying one for me!

We had also posted a bunch of books on Ebay last weekend which did not end up selling so I am thinking of joining Bookmooch.  I’ve been hearing so much about it and it sounds like a great idea.  I’ve already got some ideas for books I’m hoping to mooch.

Responses

  1. Bookmooch is great, but addictive! I joined it planning on clearing some space off my shelves…that certainly didn’t happen. 🙂

    If I were you, and you have a lot of books you’ll want to put in your inventory, especially if they’re popular, I wouldn’t be them up all at once. I think I had to send out about 20 books the first week, and 15 the second, which was quite a strain on the finances.

  2. and by be, I mean put

    Apparently, I can’t type after about 10 at night!

  3. I’m afraid that if I joined Bookmooch I’d end up swamping myself with even more books that I don’t have time to get through. Otherwise… otherwise I’d SO be there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

