Posted by: Matt | October 11, 2007

Quotery

I’m not really a collector of quotes but I found a fantastic book related one the other night. I have begun reading Warlock, a NYRB Classic by the way, and the author, Oakley Hall, wrote something I really dug in a “Prefatory Note”. He writes,

“The pursuit of truth, not of facts, is the business of fiction.”

Wrap your head around that one if you will. It is a succinct way of saying something that I’ve always believed and have mentioned in a much less elegant manner.

Responses

  1. I keep reading variations on that quote lately. It has such resonance.

  2. That is wonderful and I also think fiction is about truth and not always about facts.

  3. Great quote. I have Warlock on my TBR list. It sounds fantastic.

  4. That is a very truthful quote. And one that indeed resonates a great deal.


Leave a Reply

Categories

