Posted by: Matt | October 25, 2007

Booking Through Thursday – Reading with Abandon?


Today’s suggestion is from Cereal Box Reader:

I would enjoy reading a meme about people’s abandoned books. The books that you start but don’t finish say as much about you as the ones you actually read, sometimes because of the books themselves or because of the circumstances that prevent you from finishing. So . . . what books have you abandoned and why?

I don’t normally do Booking Through Thursday but this one is interesting and appears to be quite popular with many non-regulars doing it.

Like many others who have answered this I do not like to abandon books and will often finish a book that I really do not like (see Being Dead).  But sometimes I have to make the decision to move on because there are too many books out there I want to read.  I can’t be wasting my time with books I just don’t like.  That being said, I have only abandoned two books so far this year:  Infinite Jest and Jamestown.

I gave up on Infinite Jest because it had become a chore to read it.  I was plowing through pages just so that at the end I could say I had read it.  And at over 1000 pages it just wasn’t worth it.  At times it was enjoyable to read but at others it was so bizarre and incomprehensible that I lost interest.  I had hoped to maybe someday finish it but I recently sent it away through BookMooch.

I gave up on Jamestown for a different reason.  Some people would probably consider me a prude but most of the books I have abandoned have been because of sexual themes.  That doesn’t mean I throw out a book as soon as the clothes start to come off, I can deal with it if handled in certain ways but I can’t stand when a book becomes all about sex, the plot is wholly based around sex, or sex is described in depth and crudely.  Call me lame or whatever but it’s just not my thing.  This is the reason I abandoned Jamestown.

Now that I think about it, 2 books in 10 months isn’t bad, I’ve kept on going with nearly every book I’ve started this year…

Responses

  1. I often abandon two or three books a month, whenever something looses my interest or I realize I really don’t like it, I just quit and move on to something better!

  2. Jeane – I don’t think I have the guts to do that! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

